The Ashes Test Series Schedule 2019: The rivalry resumes after the World Cup

Please follow and like us:

Ashes Test Series Schedule 2019 – The rivalry resumes after the world cup for Australia and the hosts England. This rivalry has been a neck to neck battle in the longer format of the game. England will host Ashes this year, after they had been beaten in Australia in 2017. The hosts will be keen to take the urn back in this test series.

ashes test series schedule 2019

Australia and England will play a long test series to fight for the urn. These two arch-rivals will play a series of 5 Test Matches starting from 1st August 2019 and the last test match of the Ashes will be played on 16th September 2019. The test series will start at Birmingham and it will end in London’s Kennington Oval.

Must Read: How celebrities react to team India’s loss

Ashes Test Series Schedule 2019:

Thursday, August 1st to Monday, August 5th 2019 – 1st Test Match at Edgbaston.

Wednesday, August 14th to Sunday, August 18th 2019 – 2nd Test Match at Lords, London.

Thursday, August 22nd to Monday 26th August 2019 – 3rd Test Match at Headingley, Leeds.

Wednesday 04th September 2019 to Sunday 08th September 2019 – 4th Test Match at Emirates Old Trafford, Manchester.

Thursday 12th September to Monday 16th 2019 – 5th Test Match at Kennington Oval in London.

History of the Ashes 

The rivalry between Australia and England in cricket has been there for a long time. These two countries have been the biggest rivals after India Pakistan games. But unfortunately, India and Pakistan don’t face each other as much as England Australia does. The good thing about these two countries is that there is no political tension between them like India and Pakistan.

It all started at the Oval in 1882 when Australia won the test series on England’s soil. In the newspaper called Sporting Times, they stated that England’s cricket has died and the body will be cremated in Australia. And again in 1882 England toured Australia to regain the Ashes, the visitors won 3 test matches and a small urn was presented to Bligh by a group of Melbourne women.

Must Read: Ashes Test Series 2019: England vs Australia Test Match Series

The urn is not an official trophy but it is a symbol of a victorious team who wins the Ashes test series. From the series 1998 and 99, the urn is called Ashes trophy.

ashes test series schedule

The Ashes test series is played every two years and is either hosted by England or Australia. 70 Ashes have been played till now and Australia has won 33 and England has won 32 while the 1 series has been drawn. The last Ashes test was played in Australia, in that the Aussies had a comfortable win.

England will look to seize the opportunity as the Ashes will be played on their soil. The last when England hosted the Ashes test series, they won it.

This will a mouth-watering contest and a much-anticipated one. Australia has been in England for a long time now. So, they will be comfortable facing the England bowlers as the Aussies might have been adjusted to the conditions here for being there for the world cup matches.

 Must Read: 08 July-12 July 2019 sports weekly roundup

For staying updated with what’s happening in Sports and getting information like Ashes Test Series Schedule 2019, do follow us on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The content and images used on this site are copyright protected and copyrights vests with their respective owners. We make every effort to link back to original content whenever possible. If you own rights to any of the images, and do not wish them to appear here, please contact us and they will be promptly removed. Usage of content and images on this website is intended to promote our works and no endorsement of the artist shall be implied. Read more detailed ​​disclaimer
Copyright © 2022 All rights reserved.
× How can I help you?