Ashes Test Series 2019: England vs Australia Test Match Series

Please follow and like us:

Ashes Test Series 2019 – The rivalry of these teams has been known since the ages. Let us all know the history of Ashes Test Matches.

ashes test series

Ashes Test Series

There are some greatest rivalries in cricket, like India – Pakistan, New Zealand – Australia and South Africa –England. But Australia Vs England is the special one. If India and Pakistan battle is the mother of all battles, then Australia and England’s battle is the father of all battles. Both the teams have been giving a tough competition in the longest format of the game.

England vs Australia Test Match

The Ashes is a 5 match test series played between the arch-rivals Australia and England. The word ‘Ashes’ is originated in the satirical obituary published in the British newspaper. In 1882 Australia won their first test on the England soil, so the Sporting Times immediately published this obituary saying that the England Cricket has died, the body will be cremated and the ‘Ashes’ would be taken to Australia. In 1883 The Ashes series became associated with series played in Australia. Before the series, England captain Ivo Bligh vowed to regain that ‘Ashes’ from Australia. Therefore, the England media named that tour as Quest to regain the Ashes. On that tour, England won the 2 of the 3 test and small ‘Urn’ was given to England captain Bligh by a group of Melbourne Women.

Read: Who as a Captain is better for the Indian Team- MS Dhoni vs Kohli

Ashes Test Series 2019

The ‘Urn’ is reputed to be the Ashes of wooden bail and it is said to the ‘Ashes of the Australian Cricket’. Even though Urn is not the official trophy of The Ashes but it was presented as a personal gift to Ivo Bligh. The Urn may not the official trophy for the winners but the replica of the Urn and it is given to Ashes test Series winners as a symbol. From 1998-99 the trophy has been changed to Waterford Crystal as a representation of the Urn. Now it is called as the Ashes Trophy. The Urn was at Lords Museum, but now it has been taken to Australia for the touring display.

ashes test series 2019

Ashes Test Series 2019

Read: See how celebrities have reacted to Team India’s loss

Traditionally Ashes is a 5 Match Test match Series, it is hosted by turn by turn at least once in every year. England holds the Ashes Trophy as they are winners of the 2015 test series. England won the 5 match test series 3-0. 32 series have won each by Australia and England. Currently, this Ashes Series has been tied and 5 series have been drawn. Sir Don Bradman has scored the most runs in the Ashes Test Series so far. He has scored 5,028 runs, which is most of any player in this test tournament. Australia’s spin legend Shane Keith Warne has more wickets than any of the England and Australian bowlers. The legendary spinner has picked 195 wickets in Ashes Test Tournament.

The next Ashes Test Tournament will be played in 2019 after the cricket world cup in England.

Read: All of Dhoni’s centuries in ODIs

For more articles like, ‘Ashes Test Series 2019’ do follow us on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The content and images used on this site are copyright protected and copyrights vests with their respective owners. We make every effort to link back to original content whenever possible. If you own rights to any of the images, and do not wish them to appear here, please contact us and they will be promptly removed. Usage of content and images on this website is intended to promote our works and no endorsement of the artist shall be implied. Read more detailed ​​disclaimer
Copyright © 2019 All rights reserved.
× How can I help you?