ECB confirms Australia tour of England

Please follow and like us:

Australia tour of England 2020 schedule – England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) confirmed that the Australian tour of England in the limited overs format will be held in September. They will contest in 3 T20Is and 3 ODIs in the tour. The ongoing coronavirus pandemic had caused the tour to be postponed in July. Cricket Australia and ECB have now come to the conclusion that the tour can take place as the latter has already hosted West Indies and Pakistan.australia tour of england 2020 schedule

It has already been confirmed that assistant coach of Australia, Andrew McDonald will not take part in the tour until the end of the Indian Premier League owing to his commitment to Rajasthan Royals as their head coach. The dates and venue scheduled for the three T20I matches are: September 4, September 6 and September 8 in Southampton while the 3 ODIs will be held on September 11, September 13 and September 16 in Manchester. Since the UK government allows travellers from Australia to enter their country without the need for a quarantine period on arrival, the players and staff of Australian cricket team would not have to undergo any quarantine.

Australia tour of England 2020 schedule

ECB CEO Tom Harrison said in a statement that they owed a significant debt of gratitude to the players, staff and administrators of Cricket Australia for their efforts in organizing the tour. He said that their efforts to conduct the matches were crucial and it will help in providing financial aid to all levels of cricket in England in these trying times.

Must Read: India to host 2021 T20 World Cup and Australia to host the 2022 edition

The Australian squad will reach the UK on August 24. Head coach Justin Langer believes that the players are physically fit as they were returning after a lengthy break. They were eyeing the big assignments and were eager to get back on the field. He said that apart from the tour of England, they also had World Cups, Test Series with India and South Africa and Ashes the following year. Cricket Australia has also named the 21 man squad for the England tour:

Australia tour of England 2020 schedule

Must Read: GOI gives its nod to BCCI to conduct IPL 2020 in the UAE; Stokes to miss remaining matches against Pakistan

Australia squad: Aaron Finch (c), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins (vc), Josh Hazlewood, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Riley Meredith, Josh Philippe, Daniel Sams,Kane Richardson, Steven Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Andrew Tye, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa

This squad included 3 debutant players: Daniel Sams, Riley Meredith and Josh Philippe. They will get the opportunity to play against the World Cup Defending Champions. Trevor Hohns, National Selector said that the squad had great depth and also featured some exceptional young players.

Must Read: Anderson addresses media over retirement whispers

For more articles like, “Australia tour of England 2020 schedule”, do follow us on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram for interesting content. For watching our collection of videos, follow us on YouTube.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The content and images used on this site are copyright protected and copyrights vests with their respective owners. We make every effort to link back to original content whenever possible. If you own rights to any of the images, and do not wish them to appear here, please contact us and they will be promptly removed. Usage of content and images on this website is intended to promote our works and no endorsement of the artist shall be implied. Read more detailed ​​disclaimer
Copyright © 2019 All rights reserved.
× How can I help you?