Beginning to the end of VVIP Culture, Ban on Red Beacons from May 1

Please follow and like us:

What could be called beginning to the end of VVIP Culture, prevalent in our country, it has been decided by the Union Cabinet working under Modi Government that starting May 1, 2017, the Red Beacons (famously called as Lal Batti) would not be used by the Government officials. There are only 5 officials who have been allowed to use the red beacon on their vehicles; namely President, Vice-President, Prime Minister, Chief Justice of India and the Lok Sabha Speaker. The ban applies to Union Ministers, Chief Ministers, State cabinet Ministers, judges of High Court and Supreme Court as also the bureaucrats.

Its been reported that to set a precedent for others, Prime Minister, Sh. Narendra Modi has decided not to use Red Beacon on his official vehicles.

The Ban on red beacons move couldn’t have been timed better as just a few weeks ago, Chief Ministers of 2 states, namely Uttar Pradesh and Punjab had declared stoppage of use of red beacon on their official cars.

Its been over 3 years now that Justice G S Singhvi and Justice C Nagappan had directed State Governments to amend Motor Vehicle Rules of their states to restrict use of red beacon. They had also directed to impose a fine on people found misusing this facility.

Emergency vehicles like fire brigade, ambulance can still continue to use the Red Beacons.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The content and images used on this site are copyright protected and copyrights vests with their respective owners. We make every effort to link back to original content whenever possible. If you own rights to any of the images, and do not wish them to appear here, please contact us and they will be promptly removed. Usage of content and images on this website is intended to promote our works and no endorsement of the artist shall be implied. Read more detailed ​​disclaimer
Copyright © 2019 All rights reserved.
× How can I help you?