Chess World Blitz Championship Winners

The Chess World Blitz Championship organised by the World Chess Federation (FIDE) saw Magnus Carlsen and Kateryna Lagno win the men’s and women’s titles at the showpiece tournament. The finals organised in Russia saw Carlsen earn a total of 17 points out of a possible 21 after unending the tournament undefeated. Meanwhile, in the women’s category, Lagno of Russia led the jubilant celebrations much to the joy of the home faithful.

Chess World Blitz Championship

The win for Carlsen was not without jitters though. We were matched every step of the way by Duda on the final day of the event. His match winning streak in the mid-tournament saw him keep snatching at Carlsen’s heels before he ultimately ended at 16.5 points, just half a point behind Carlsen. In third place was Hikaru Nakamura with a cumulative 14.5 points at the championship.

Must Read: Know India’s Chess Icon Viswanathan Anand a little more

The 2nd King Salma World Blitz Chess Championship saw Kateryna Lagno emerge victoriously and be crowned as the greatest blitz chess player taking her good from day one into the last day of the tournament.

Chess World Blitz Championship

Kateryna Lagno: “I am very happy, of course. It is interesting that I didn’t lose a single game. Of course, I was lucky in some games but managed to hold them, and I think this is the first time in my life when I did not lose a single game in a blitz tournament.” 

Sarasadat Khademalsharieh took the silver medal with 13 points despite starting the concluding day with a loss. She, however, bounced back quickly to finish superbly with 4.5 points in the last five rounds.

Chess World Blitz Championship

Lei Tingjie claimed third place with 12, 5 points, despite the last round loss to her compatriot Tan Zhongyi. Lucky for her the result didn’t come to bite her in the back with the main competitor Valentina Gunina also falling at the final hurdle.

The focus now shifts to this year’s first really big chess event with the Tata Steel Masters and Challengers in Wijk aan Zee seeing an illustrious line-up of Carlsen, Mamedyarov, Ding Liren, Giri, Kramnik and Anand compete. The action starts on January 11th.

Chess World Blitz Championship Winners Men

  1. Magnus Carlsen -Championship With 17/21
  2. Jan-Krzysztof Duda (Poland) -16.5 points
  3. Hikaru Nakamura (USA) -14.5 point points

Chess World Blitz Championship Winners Women

  1. Kateryna Lagno (Russia) – Championship with 13.5 points.
  2. Sarasadat Khademalsharieh(Iran) -13 points
  3. Lei Tingjie (China) -12.5 points.

For more updates, do Subscribe to our newsletter and follow us on FacebookTwitter and Google+.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The content and images used on this site are copyright protected and copyrights vests with their respective owners. We make every effort to link back to original content whenever possible. If you own rights to any of the images, and do not wish them to appear here, please contact us and they will be promptly removed. Usage of content and images on this website is intended to promote our works and no endorsement of the artist shall be implied. Read more detailed ​​disclaimer
Copyright © 2019 All rights reserved.