Cricket World Cup awards: List of winners of World Cup Man of the Tournament award till date

Please follow and like us:

Cricket World Cup Man of the Tournament award – One of the most coveted and revered awards at the ODI Cricket World Cup comes along in the way of the Man of the Tournament award. Introduced in 1992, the prestigious and elusive prize is presented to the player who has, on a consistent basis, throughout the entirety of the tournament performed with either the bat or ball or both.

Cricket World Cup Man of the Tournament award

It’s a stellar award, one each word class player eyes up before the Cricket World Cup begins with a penchant to walk away with a glistening trophy under their arms at the culmination of the event. The Man of the Tournament is not only a certification of your massive credentials as a player but also puts you in the echelon of the cricketing fraternity, an award that reserves a player’s name in the golden chapters of cricket for the entirety.

Must Read: World Cup 2019: Alex Hales possible replacement in England World cup team

We take a look at the seven recipients of this stupendous laurel over the years and their performances which lit up the tournament with some absolutely sensational and ravishing displays.

Cricket World Cup Man of the Tournament award

1992- Martin Crowe, New Zealand: 456 Runs In 9 Matches

मार्टिन क्रो

 The first player to be awarded the Man of the Tournament became Martin Crowe in 1992 after his batting efforts and good, strong captaincy lead New Zealand to their first-ever semi-final finish at the tournament. He ended the tournament as the highest run-scorer with 456 runs in 9 innings, a figure that was more than enough to see him being bestowed with the honor.

Crowe began the tournament with a 100 against Australia, one which saw his side record a 37-run win before following it up with contributions throughout. In New Zealand’s all-important semi-final, he delivered as well with a 91-run inning off 83 balls, a performance that helped his side rake up an extremely competitive and feisty 262-7 against Pakistan.

Must Read: Cricket World Cup 2019: Cricketers who could be playing their last world cup

1996- Sanath Jayasuriya, Sri Lanka: 221 Runs and 7 Wickets

सनथ जयसूर्या

Defeating India in the semi-finals before eventually going on to get the better of Australia in the final, Sri Lanka lifted their one and only world cup title till date in 1996. It was a tournament that saw their opener Jayasuriya, being accorded with the second man of the tournament award after he scored 221 runs in the World Cup at a strike rate of 131. Despite there being better batsmen than him in the event, his performance with the ball swung the prize his way as he picked up 7 wickets as well.

1999- Lance Klusener, South Africa: 281 Runs and 17 wickets

लांस क्लूसनर

With 4 man of the match awards in the 1999 world cup, there was no better contender for the alluring award than Lance Klusener. He set his stake for the prize in South Africa’s opening match itself when he rescued his side from a precarious situation of 115-7 with a 52-run inning before following it up with 3 wickets to see SA defeat Sri Lanka by 89 runs.

Incidentally, his best figures also came in the same tournament when he took 5-21 against Kenya to see South Africa register a comfortable 7 wicket win. It a true all-round performance by him, one that saw South Africa establishes themselves as real title contenders.

Must Read: Cricket World Cup 2019 squad: Full list of ICC World Cup 2019 Team Captain and Players

Cricket World Cup Man of the Tournament award

2003- Sachin Tendulkar, India: 673 Runs

सचिन तेंदुलकर

A tournament in which he always liked playing in, Sachin Tendulkar who was one of the frontrunners at previous editions as well finally got a chance to win the stunning trophy in 2003. As India reached the final, a match they eventually went onto lose against Australia, Tendulkar with 673 runs won his first Man of the Tournament award. In the 11 innings he played in, he scored 6 50s along with the 1 100 and along with Virender Sehwag at the top became one of the key fulcrums for India’s rampant and unprecedented success.

2007- Glenn McGrath, Australia: 26 Wickets

ग्लेन मैकग्रा

One of Australia’s main fast bowling options in a pace battery filled with exceptional spearheads, McGrath’s 26 wickets in the tournament lead Australia to their second title in as many tournaments. The campaign was a signal of McGrath’s overall career with Australia, especially in the world cup where he always delivered. Overall, he has 71 wickets in 39 matches with best figures of 7-15 in his career.

Must Read: Players leaving IPL 2019 early: Star performers Recalled By Countries For World Cup Preparations

2011- Yuvraj Singh, India: 362 Runs and 15 Wickets

युवराज सिंह

Registering their second world cup triumph, one that came in the country itself, Yuvraj Singh was handed over the Man of the Tournament performance. One of the few instances that an all-rounder was adjudged as the true winner of the prize, it was a tournament that saw India’s middle-order batsmen score 362 runs along with picking up 15 wickets.

A regular go-to bowler for Dhoni, one used to fill in the overs with his spin, Yuvraj used to find a way to pick up wickets in the middle period along with coming up with a few contributions as well with the bat.

Cricket World Cup Man of the Tournament award

2015- Mitchell Starc, Australia

मिशेल स्टार्क

Finding his place in the 2019 world cup squad as well for Australia, Starc’s performances in the recently concluded test series against India would not have induced the most of confidence in the Australian consignment. While he was good in patches, he was way too wayward, spraying the ball around the surface on many occasions, allowing batsmen to play their slow range of shots.

Must Read: ICC Cricket World Cup all team players: Complete teams of the 10 participating nations

2019 – Kane Williamson (New Zealand): 578 runs

Kane Williamson was named as captain of the ‘Team of the Tournament’ by the ICC and ESPNCricinfo. At the 2019 Cricket World Cup, he scored 106 to guide New Zealand to victory over South Africa. In the same match, Williamson scored his 3,000th run as captain of New Zealand in ODIs. Then on 22 June, he scored 148 runs off 154 balls in a 5 run victory over West Indies, this was his career-best score in ODI cricket.

For more articles like ‘Cricket World Cup Man of the Tournament award’, do follow us on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The content and images used on this site are copyright protected and copyrights vests with their respective owners. We make every effort to link back to original content whenever possible. If you own rights to any of the images, and do not wish them to appear here, please contact us and they will be promptly removed. Usage of content and images on this website is intended to promote our works and no endorsement of the artist shall be implied. Read more detailed ​​disclaimer
Copyright © 2022 All rights reserved.
× How can I help you?