National Sports Day: Dhyan Chand Award Winners List

Please follow and like us:

Dhyan Chand Award Winners List – The Dhyan Chand Award is officially known as ‘Dhyan Chand Award for Lifetime Achievement in Sports and Games’. It is the lifetime fulfillment carrying the honor of the Republic of India. This award is known after Dhyan Chand (1905–79), an Indian field hockey participant who scored greater than one thousand goals in his professional career which spanned over twenty years from 1926 to 1948. This award is offered yearly through the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports.

dhyan chand award winners list

Recipients are selected by a committee constituted by the Ministry and are honored for their contributions to sports both in the course of their energetic career and after retirement. As of 2016, the award accommodates a statuette, a certificate, ceremonial dress, and a total prize of Rs 5 lakh.

Instituted in 2002, the award is given handiest to the disciplines included inside the occasions like Olympic Games, Paralympic Games, Asian Games, Commonwealth Games, World Championship and the World Cup together with Cricket, Indigenous Games, and Para sports. A nine-member committee evaluates the nominations and later submits their recommendations to the Union Minister of Youth Affairs and Sports for approval.

Dhyan Chand Award Winners List

The first recipients of the award have been Shahuraj Birajdar (Boxing), Ashok Diwan (Hockey), and Aparna Ghosh (Basketball), in 2002. Usually conferred upon not greater than three sportspersons in 12 months, some exceptions had been made (2003, 2012, and 2013) while extra recipients had been presented. The maximum current recipients of the award are Bhupender Singh (Athletics), Syed Shahid Hakim (Football), and Sumrai Tete (Hockey).

National Sports Day 2021

Following is the list of winners of the award till now:

Dhyan Chand Award 2002 Winners List

2002 Shahuraj Birajdar Boxing
2002 Ashok Diwan Hockey
2002 Aparna Ghosh Basketball

2003 Dhyan Chand Award Winners List

2003 Charles Cornelius Hockey
2003 Ram Kumar Basketball
2003 Dharam Singh Hockey
2003 Om Prakash Volleyball
2003 Smita Shirole Yadav Rowing

Must Read: Best Cricket Coaching Institutes in India

2004 Dhyan Chand Award Winners List

2004 Digamber Mehendale Athletics (Physically challenged)
2004 Hardayal Singh Hockey
2004 Labh Singh Athletics

Dhyan Chand Award 2005 Winners List

2005 Maruti Mane Wrestling
2005 Manoj Kumar Kothari Billiards & Snooker
2005 Rajinder Singh Hockey

2006 Dhyan Chand Award Winners List

2006 Harishchandra Birajdar Wrestling
2006 Uday K. Prabhu Athletics
2006 Nandy Singh Hockey

Dhyan Chand Award 2007 Winners List

2007 Rajinder Singh Wrestling
2007 Shamsher Singh Kabaddi
2007 Varinder Singh Hockey

2008 Dhyan Chand Award Winners List

2008 Gian Singh Wrestling
2008 Hakam Singh Athletics
2008 Mukhbain Singh Hockey

2009 Dhyan Chand Award Winners List

2009 Satbir Singh Dahiya Wrestling
2009 Ishar Singh Deol Athletics

2010 Dhyan Chand Award Winners List

2010 Anita Chanu Weightlifting
2010 Satish Pillai Athletics
2010 Kuldeep Singh Wrestling

Dhyan Chand Award 2011 Winners List

2011 Shabbir Ali Football
2011 Sushil Kohli Swimming
2011 Rajkumar Wrestling

2012 Dhyan Chand Award Winners List

2012 Gundeep Kumar Hockey
2012 Vinod Kumar Wrestling
2012 Jagraj Singh Mann Athletics
2012 Sukhbir Singh Tokas Para-Sports

2013 Dhyan Chand Award Winners List

2013 Syed Ali Hockey
2013 Anil Mann Wrestling
2013 Mary D’Souza Sequeira Athletics
2013 Girraj Singh Athletics (Parasports)

Must read: Major Dhyan Chand Birthday wishes

2014 Dhyan Chand Award Winners List

2014 Zeeshan Ali Tennis
2014 Gurmail Singh Hockey
2014 K. P. Thakkar Swimming

Dhyan Chand Award 2015 Winners List

2015 Romeo James Hockey
2015 Shiv Prakash Mishra Tennis
2015 T. P. Padmanabhan Nair Volleyball

2016 Dhyan Chand Award Winners List

2016 Sylvanus Dung Dung Hockey
2016 Sathi Geetha Athletics
2016 Rajendra Pralhad Shelke Rowing

2017 Dhyan Chand Award Winners List

2017 Bhupender Singh Athletics
2017 Syed Shahid Hakim Football
2017 Sumrai Tete Hockey

2018 Dhyan Chand Award Winners List

2018 Satyadev Prasad Archery
2018 Bharat Kumar Chhetri Hockey
2018 Miss Bobby Aloysius Athletic
2018 Chougale Dodu Dattatray Wrestling

2019 Dhyan Chand Award Winners List

2019 Manuel Frederick Hockey
2019 Arup Basak Table Tennis
2019 Manoj Kumar Wrestling
2019 Nitin Kirtane Tennis
2019 C. Lalremsanga Archery

Must Read: Dronacharya Award Winner List

For more articles like, “Dhyan Chand Award Winners List”, do follow us on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram for interesting content. For watching our collection of videos, follow us on YouTube.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The content and images used on this site are copyright protected and copyrights vests with their respective owners. We make every effort to link back to original content whenever possible. If you own rights to any of the images, and do not wish them to appear here, please contact us and they will be promptly removed. Usage of content and images on this website is intended to promote our works and no endorsement of the artist shall be implied. Read more detailed ​​disclaimer
Copyright © 2022 All rights reserved.
× How can I help you?