Indian Sports Awards: Dronacharya Award Winner List

Please follow and like us:

Dronacharya Award Winner List – The Dronacharya Award is officially known as the ‘Dronacharya Award for Outstanding Coaches in Sports and Games’. It is a sports coaching honour of the Republic of India. This award has been named after Drona, often referred to as ‘Dronacharya’, a character from the Sanskrit epic ‘Mahabharata’ of ancient India. In ‘Mahabharta’, Drona was a master of advanced military warfare tactics and was appointed as the royal preceptor to the Kaurava and the Pandava princes for their training in military arts and Divine weapons.

dronacharya award winner list

Dronacharya Award Winner List

The accolade is given annually by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports. The award is presented to the Trainers or coaches who have enabled sportspersons to achieve the highest level of excellence in a particular sport. The award compromises of a Bronze Idol of Dronacharya, who is seen holding a bow and arrow. Along with the idol, the winner also gets a certificate, a ceremonial dress and a cash prize of 5 lakhs. The inception of this award took place in the year 1985. It only covers events such as Olympic Games, Paralympic Games, Asian Games, Commonwealth Games, and the World Championships.

Must Read: ICC World Test Championship Points Table

The first recipients of the awards were Bhalachandra Bhaskar Bhagwat (Wrestling), Om Prakash Bhardwaj (Boxing), and O. M. Nambiar (Athletics). The following is a list of Dronacharya award recipients from 2015:

2015 Dronacharya Award Winner List

2015 Nihar Ameen Swimming
2015 Anoop Singh Wrestling
2015 Harbans Singh Athletics
2015 Naval Singh Athletics
2015 Swatantar Raj Singh Boxing

2016 Dronacharya Award Winner List

2016 Sagar Mal Dhayal Boxing
2016 S. Pradeep Kumar Swimming
2016 Bishweshwar Nandi Gymnastics
2016 Mahavir Singh Phogat Wrestling
2016 Nagapuri Ramesh Athletics
2016 Rajkumar Sharma Cricket

Must Read: Best Cricket Coaching Institutes in India

2017 Dronacharya Award Winner List

2017 R. Gandhi Athletics
2017 Heera Nand Kataria Kabaddi
2017 G. S. S. V. Prasad Badminton
2017 Brij Bhushan Mohanty Boxing
2017 P. A. Raphel Hockey
2017 Sanjoy Chakraverty Shooting
2017 Roshan Lal Wrestling

2018 Dronacharya Award Winner List

2018 Subedar Chenanda Achaiah Kuttappa Boxing
2018 Vijay Sharma Weightlifting
2018 A. Srinivasa Rao Table Tennis
2018 Sukhdev Singh Pannu Athletics
2018 Clarence Lobo Hockey
2018 Tarak Sinha Cricket
2018 Jiwan Kumar Sharma Judo
2018 V.R. Beedu Athletics

2019 Dronacharya Award Winner List

2019 Mohinder Singh Dhillon Athletics
2019 Rambir Singh Khokar Kabaddi
2019 U. Vimal Kumar Badminton
2019 Sandip Gupta Table Tennis
2019 Sanjay Bhardwaj Cricket
2019 Merzban Patel Hockey

Must Read: Five Highest Paid Young Football Players in The World

For more articles like, “Dronacharya Award Winner List”, do follow us on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram for interesting content. For watching our collection of videos, follow us on YouTube.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The content and images used on this site are copyright protected and copyrights vests with their respective owners. We make every effort to link back to original content whenever possible. If you own rights to any of the images, and do not wish them to appear here, please contact us and they will be promptly removed. Usage of content and images on this website is intended to promote our works and no endorsement of the artist shall be implied. Read more detailed ​​disclaimer
Copyright © 2022 All rights reserved.
× How can I help you?