Entry Fee For Taj Mahal And Other Monuments Hiked

Please follow and like us:

The Archaeological Survey of India announced that it will be increasing the entry fee for visitors to historical monuments around the country. The move by the ASI sees an increase in entry fee for the iconic Taj Mahal among a total of 17 protected monuments. The list includes six heritage sites in Delhi and Agra and other category A and B monuments around the country.


entry feel 2018


A notification issued by the Ministry Of Culture informed public of the revised list of entry fees. The step follows a preliminary notification issued by the ASI back in December 2017 to raise the ticket prices. Following a 45 day window which invited suggestions and objections from the public, the ASI and Ministry Of Culture devised the new rate list.


entry fee


As per the release of the Ministry Of Culture, entry to the Taj Mahal has been hiked by Rs.10 for domestic visitors and by Rs.100 for foreign visitors.  Visitors from SAARC countries will also have to shell out an extra Rs.10 to visit the glistening white marble relic in all its glory.


This revision means that :


  • Indian citizens will now have to pay Rs.50 per person for an entry ticket.
  • Citizens of SAARC nations will have to make do away with Rs.540.
  • For nationals of other countries the entry fee will be Rs.1100, including the toll tax charged by the Agra Development Authority.


The move has been taken in a bid to increase funds to help in restoration of monuments and heritage sights around the country. The small increase in the entry fee will go a long way in helping the government garner up the necessary funds to ensure that these buildings which are an epitome of India’s finest architecture remain in their pristine condition.


The ‘B’ category monuments’ entry fee sees an increase from Rs 15 to Rs 25 for Indians and from Rs 200 to Rs 300 for foreign citizens. The full list of monuments that will see a hike is as below:


  • In Agra, the ‘A’ category monuments ticketed include Taj Mahal, Fatehpur Sikri and Agra Fort while the five ‘B’ category monuments are Akbar’s Tomb Sikandra, Mariyam Tomb Sikandra, Ram Bagh, Itmad-ud-Daula and Mehtab Bagh.
  • In Delhi eight monuments have seen a hike in ticket prices which are the Qutub Minar, Humayun’s Tomb and Red Fort, Khan-i-Khana, Purana Qila, Tughluqabad Fort, Kotla Ferozshah, Jantar Mantar and Saidarjung Tomb.

The Ministry of Culture has however announced a rebate of Rs.5 for Indian nationals and Rs.50 for foreigners for every ticket purchased online in a bid to promote and increase cashless transactions.


For more updates, do Subscribe to our newsletter and follow us on FacebookTwitter, and Google+.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The content and images used on this site are copyright protected and copyrights vests with their respective owners. We make every effort to link back to original content whenever possible. If you own rights to any of the images, and do not wish them to appear here, please contact us and they will be promptly removed. Usage of content and images on this website is intended to promote our works and no endorsement of the artist shall be implied. Read more detailed ​​disclaimer
Copyright © 2019 Tentaran.com. All rights reserved.
× How can I help you?