T10 League: Everything You Need To Know About the Tournament

Here is everything you need to know about the T10 League

The world’s first professional ten overs cricket league is set to kick off from tomorrow for its second season. With a players list that features some of the biggest names in cricket and the addition of two new teams to the league, the T10 league is set to entertain you with its bashful, all-out brand of cricket. Having attained official recognition from the ICC, keeping in mind its strategy for the global promotion of the sport, the T10 league has been granted a big short In the arm by cricket’s official governing body.

everything you need to know about the T10 League Before the first match between Sindhis and Rajputs on November 21 at 8:00 pm IST we bring you everything you need to know about the T10 League, a mega-event from the eight teams, format to the groups.

The second edition of the T10 league will be a ten-day event that will see eight teams take part in it, an increase from the six of last year. Beginning from 21 November, the league that will culminate of 2 December will see 29 matches between eight teams- Kerala Kings, Punjab Legends, Maratha Arabians, Bengal Tigers, Sindhis (formerly Karachians), Rajputs, Northern Warriors, and Pakhtoons.

Must Read:  Europa League 2018-19: All Results and Group Standings

The draft for the T10 league was held earlier in September with a host of cricket stars being roped in by teams to strengthen their bid for the title. Afghanistan spin wizard Rashid Khan (Maratha Arabians), Pakistan’s Shahid Afridi (Pakhtoons) and Shoaib Malik (Punjabi Legends), England’s Eoin Morgan (Kerala Kings), New Zealand’s Brendon McCullum (Rajputs), West Indies’ Sunil Narine (Bengal Tigers) and Darren Sammy (Northern Warriors) and Australia’s Shane Watson (Karachians) will present the respective sides as icon players. Indian cricketer Virender Sehwag and Shahid Afridi are the league icons.

everything you need to know about the T10 League

Meanwhile, the T10 league will see no representation of Indian players currently contracted by the BCCI. Given Sharjah’s history with cricket corruption, India has an unofficial ban on the region, which doesn’t allow Indian players to take part in the league.

As far as the format of the league goes, the eight teams have been divided into two groups of four. Group A comprises of Kerala Kings, Sindhis, Pakhtoons and Rajputs while Punjab Legends Bengal Tigers, Maratha Arabians, and Northern Warriors are in Group B. The tournament will be played in a group stage format in the initial stages following which the playoffs will be held that will see the franchises face teams from other groups.

Must Read:  Champions League 2018-19: All results and main fixtures

The top four sides after the end of these set of matches will play the Qualifier and the Eliminator. The top two teams will take place in the qualifier with the winner reaching the final while the loser will play the winner of the eliminator between the third and fourth placed team for another shot in the summit clash.

Find below the detailed list of the 15 man squads for each of the 8 participating teams.

Kerala Kings: Eoin Morgan (icon player, captain), Sohail Tanvir, Kieron Pollard, Paul Stirling, Dasun Shanaka, Chris Gayle, Junaid Khan, Sandeep Lamichhane, Tom Curran, Fabian Allen, Niroshan Dickwella, Imran Nazir, Benny Howell.
Coach: Daniel Vettori

Maratha Arabians: Rashid Khan (icon player), Kamran Akmal, Alex Hales, Dwayne Bravo, James Faulkner, Lasith Malinga, Liam Livingstone, James Vince, Brendan Taylor, Adam Lyth, Roelof van der Merwe, Najibullah Zadran, Richard Gleeson.
Coach: Wasim Akram

Pakhtoons: Shahid Afridi (icon player, captain), Mohammad Irfan, Liam Dawson, Colin Ingram, David Willey, Colin Munro, Andre Fletcher, Sohail Khan, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Chadwick Walton, Shapoor Zadran, Gulbadin Naib, Cameron Delport.
Coach: Dean Jones

Punjabi Legends: Shoaib Malik (icon player, captain), Chris Jordan, Luke Ronchi, Liam Plunkett, Evin Lewis, Mohammad Sami, Zahir Khan, Umar Akmal, Mitchell McClenaghan, Tom Moores, Anwar Ali, Jade Dernbach, Hasan Khan.
Coach: Mushtaq Ahmed

Karachians: Shane Watson (icon player), Anton Devcich, Ben Laughlin, Jofra Archer, Colin de Grandhomme, Ben Cutting, Mohammad Nawaz, Dawid Malan, Fawad Ahmed, Isuru Udana, Joe Clarke, Samiullah Shenwari, Mohammad Irfan.
Coach: Tom Moody

Bengal Tigers: Sunil Narine (icon player), Jason Roy, Asif Ali, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Sam Billings, Morne Morkel, Aamer Yamin, Mohammad Nabi, Kusal Perera, Sherfane Rutherford, Kevon Cooper, Rayad Emrit, Ali Khan.
Coach: Stephen Fleming

Northern Warriors: Darren Sammy (icon player), Wahab Riaz, Nicolas Pooran, Andre Russell, Dwayne Smith, Ravi Bopara, Rovman Powell, Harry Gurney, Chris Green, Obed McCoy, Lendl Simmons, Khary Pierre, Kennar Lewis.
Coach: Robin Singh

Rajputs: Brendon McCullum (icon player), Chris Lynn, Rilee Rossouw, Mohammad Shahzad, Mohammad Hafeez, Tymal Mills, Carlos Brathwaite, Rahat Ali, Samit Patel, Qais Ahmad, Ben Dunk, Shan Masood, Peter Trego.
Coach: Herschelle Gibbs.

For more details on everything, you need to know about the T10 League and related updates, like and subscribe to tentaran.com.

For more updates, do Subscribe to our newsletter and follow us on FacebookTwitter and Google+

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The content and images used on this site are copyright protected and copyrights vests with their respective owners. The usage of the content and images on this website is intended to promote the works and no endorsement of the artist shall be implied. Read more detailed ​​disclaimer
Copyright © 2018 Tentaran.com. All rights reserved.