Indian National Flag – Important facts at a Glance

Please follow and like us:

A flag is an honor, respect, and necessity for all nations. Millions of people have died for it. The Indian national flag or the national flag of India is a rectangular tricolor of saffron, white and green, with a 24-spoke wheel or Ashoka Chakra at its center. The flag was adopted during a meeting of the Constituent Assembly which was held on 22 July 1947 and on 15 August 1947 and gradually became the official flag of India. Here are some very interesting facts about Indian national flag you must know.

facts about indian national flag

Interesting facts about Indian National Flag –

  • The national flag of India was designed by Pingali Venkayya, an agriculturist and Indian freedom fighter.
  • Indian national flag is made of khadi. Khadi is a type of hand-spun cloth of cotton or silk which was made popular by Mahatma Gandhi.
  • The Indian flag for the first time was hoisted on 7 August 1906 by Sacchindra Prasad Bose at Parsi Bagan Square in Calcutta. The flag had religious symbols with Vande Matram inscribed on it.
  • After some changes, the second Indian flag was hoisted by Madam Bhikaji Cama at the second Socialist International summit in Stuttgart, Germany. She was the first person to hoist the Indian Flag on foreign soil.

Do Read: Interesting facts about India Gate, Description and History

  • The flag has a ratio of 2:3, where the length of the flag is 1.5 times that of the width and all three stripes of the flag – Saffron, White, and Green. Also, the chakra is printed on both sides of the flag.
  • The national flag comes in nine different sizes in which the Indian flag is made. The smallest one is 6×4 inches and the biggest one is hoisted on forts with 21×8 feet.
  • The Ashok Chakra at the center of the flag represents the Laws of Dharma i.e. righteousness. The Ashoka Chakra on the national flag is from the Lion Capital of Ashoka.

Must Read: Unknown Facts about Incredible India

Facts about Indian National Flag

  • The size of the Ashoka Chakra was not framed in the Flag Code, but the Ashoka Chakra must have twenty-four spokes that are equally spaced. The Ashoka Chakra is navy-blue in color and is on the white stripe of the flag.
  • The national flag of India is also known by the term ‘tricolor’ or ‘Tiranga’ in Hindi. The reason for this is the three dominant colors in the flag: saffron, white, and green.
  • The three colors have a different meaning:Saffron represents sacrifice and courage.
    White represents purity, truth, and peace.
    Green represents prosperity.

For more articles like, “facts about Indian national flag”, do follow us on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram for interesting content. For watching our collection of videos, follow us on YouTube.

One thought on “Indian National Flag – Important facts at a Glance

  • January 29, 2020 at 1:14 am

    Indian National Flag is so beautiful
    every nation identifies for their flag.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The content and images used on this site are copyright protected and copyrights vests with their respective owners. We make every effort to link back to original content whenever possible. If you own rights to any of the images, and do not wish them to appear here, please contact us and they will be promptly removed. Usage of content and images on this website is intended to promote our works and no endorsement of the artist shall be implied. Read more detailed ​​disclaimer
Copyright © 2022 All rights reserved.
× How can I help you?