French Open 2017: Rafaeal Nadal Defeats Stan Wawrinka To Win The First Perfect 10


  • Rafael Nadal defeated Stan Wawrinka by 6-2 6-3 6-1
  • This was his record 10th French Open title
  • Nadal is now second on the all-time Grand Slam winners list


Playing his 22nd major final, Rafael Nadal proved he is the King of Clay as he won the French Open for a record 10th time. His clay-court prowess as unassailable as ever, Rafael Nadal won the French Open title by dominating 2015 champion Stan Wawrinka 6-2, 6-3, 6-1 in the final. No other man or woman has won 10 championships at the same major in the Open era, which began in 1968 making it a Perfect 10 for Nadal.

raffel nadal

The 31-year-old Nadal was overwhelmingly good from start to finish against Wawrinka winning in straight sets. Over the past two weeks en route to La Decima, Spanish for “10th’ not only did Nadal win every set he played in the tournament, he dropped a total of only 35 games, the second fewest by any man on the way to any title at a Grand Slam tournament in the Open era with all matches being best-of-five-sets.


The match proved to be disappointingly one-sided. Wawrinka had the unenviable job of halting the Nadal juggernaut, one which proved impossible for him as he hardly put up a fight throughout the match. His unforced error count had reached into double figures by the fourth game. There was no weakness to Nadal’s game. He was unstoppable and cruised past Wawrinka to notch up another win in a French Open final.


“I didn’t play my best tennis,” said Wawrinka. “I think I was a little bit hesitating with my selection of shots. He puts this doubt in your head when you play against him.

“I play my best at all events, but the feeling here is impossible to describe. It’s impossible to compare it to another place,” Nadal said. “The nerves, the adrenaline, I feel on the court are impossible to compare to another feeling. This is the most important event in my career.”


When it ended, Nadal dropped to his back on the clay, then rose and briefly pulled his blue shirt over his face, taking in the moment. He was again the champion, again unbeatable at the French Open, once again living up to the title of the King of Clay.

Most titles at the same Slam (men and women)
11 Margaret Court – Australian Open (won between 1960-73)

10 Rafael Nadal – French Open (2005-17)

9 Martina Navratilova – Wimbledon (1978-90)

Most titles at the same Slam (Men)

10 Rafael Nadal – French Open (2005-17)
7 Richard Sears – US Open (1881-87); William Renshaw – Wimbledon (1881-89); Bill Larned – US Open (1901-11); Bill Tiden – US Open (1920-29); Pete Sampras – Wimbledon (1993-2000); Roger Federer – Wimbledon (2003-12)

Fewest games dropped in winning a Grand Slam title (where all matches were five sets)

32 Bjorn Borg – 1978 French Open

33 Rafael Nadal – 2017 French Open

38 Bjorn Borg – 1980 French Open

41 Rafael Nadal – 2008 French Open

Best win-loss record in French Open history

79-2 Rafael Nadal

65-16 Roger Federer

59-12 Novak Djokovic

58-17 Guillermo Vilas


For latest News, Views & More, Subscribe to our newsletter and follow us on FacebookTwitter and Google+

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The content and images used on this site are copyright protected and copyrights vests with their respective owners. The usage of the content and images on this website is intended to promote the works and no endorsement of the artist shall be implied. Read more detailed ​​disclaimer
Copyright © 2018 All rights reserved.