ICC announces fixtures of T20 World Cup 2020

Please follow and like us:

ICC announces fixtures of T20 world cup 2020 –The International Cricket Council has unveiled the fixture list, groups and schedules of the ICC T20 World Cup 2020 for both the men’s and women’s event. The men’s edition of the marquee tournament will be conducted from October 18- November 15 while the women’s edition will kick-off earlier in the year, commencing on February 21 before eventually culminating on March 8, 2020.

ICC announces fixtures of T20 world cup 2020

2020 promises to bring riveting and unparalleled cricket to us with both the men’s and women’s T20 world cups being played as standalone events for the first time ever. This is also the solitary time that both the showpiece events will be played in the same year and the same country, bringing our way a plethora of some absolutely delectable and enthralling matches. Australia is the venue for both the tournaments with the full set of fixtures across the two being contested in 8 cities and 13 stadiums.

Must Read: ICC T20 World Cup 2020 Schedule and Format

Revealing the full format for one of the biggest and most coveted tournament’s in world cricket, the ICC laid further insight into all of the details revolving around the world cups. The men’s affair will be a 12 team event while the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup will feature 10 sides in it.

The women’s category sees 8 teams already confirmed for the tournament based on the finishing positions from the World T20 in the West Indies with the remaining two places to be determined through a qualifying tournament to be held in 2019. The women’s world cup has been strategically made to come to an end on March 8, the same day as International Women’s Day to celebrate a special day for women in emphatic fashion.

ICC announces fixtures of T20 world cup 2020

India women were unable to progress from the first knockout-out stage in the 2018 edition of the tournament. They had their best ever campaign at the tournament in 2008 when they made it as far as the semi-finals before finally floundering just one step away from the summit clash. Having never won this tournament till date, the women side, which is considered one of the most meticulous and well-rounded units in international cricket, will get their fair chance to win the first T20 World Cup underway against Australia at the Spotless Stadium in Sydney on February 21, 2020.

 That game will be followed by a second group game against a qualifier on February 26 at the WACA, Perth against New Zealand on February 27 and Sri Lanka on February 29 at Junction Oval, Melbourne.

Must Read: ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 Format, schedule, venue and tickets

Elsewhere, in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, 8 sides have automatically sealed their berth in the event while 2 of the 8 qualifiers identity have been made known to us in Sri Lanka and Bangladesh, who had finished ninth and tenth place respectively in the ICC World T20 Team Rankings. The other 6 teams will be decided on soon afterwards and the 8 sides will go through a qualifying event aimed at giving the world cup its final four participants.

India will get their tournament underway the ICC T20 World Cup on October 24, 2020, against South Africa in Perth. Placed in a tough Group B, India will then go on to play a qualifier match at MCG in Melbourne. It will be followed by facing England at the same venue before their final two fixtures of the Super 12s against another qualifier and Afghanistan at the Adelaide and SCG, Sydney respectively.

ICC announces fixtures of T20 World Cup 2020

India men’s fixtures for ICC T20 World Cup, 2020

Super 12s: India vs South Africa at Perth Stadium, Perth on October 24, 2020

Super 12s: India vs A2 Qualifier at MCG, Melbourne on October 29, 2020

Super 12s: India vs England at MCG, Melbourne on November 1, 2020

Super 12s: India vs B1 Qualifier at Adelaide Oval, Adelaide on November 5, 2020

Super 12s: India vs Afghanistan at SCG, Sydney on November 8, 2020

India women’s fixtures for ICC T20 World Cup, 2020

India vs Australia at Spotless Stadium, Sydney on February 21, 2020

India vs Qualifier at WACA, Perth on February 24, 2020

India vs New Zealand at Junction Oval, Melbourne on February 27, 2020


India vs Sri Lanka at Junction Oval, Melbourne on February 29, 2020

For more articles like ICC announces fixtures of T20 World Cup 2020, do Subscribe to our newsletter and follow us on FacebookTwitter and Google+.

One thought on “ICC announces fixtures of T20 World Cup 2020

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The content and images used on this site are copyright protected and copyrights vests with their respective owners. We make every effort to link back to original content whenever possible. If you own rights to any of the images, and do not wish them to appear here, please contact us and they will be promptly removed. Usage of content and images on this website is intended to promote our works and no endorsement of the artist shall be implied. Read more detailed ​​disclaimer
Copyright © 2021 Tentaran.com. All rights reserved.
× How can I help you?