ICC Awards Winners 2018: Kohli and India Win Big

Please follow and like us:

Here is everything you need to know about the ICC Awards Winners 2018.

The International Cricket Council has finally announced its highly anticipated list of award winners with India winning big, taking home a majority of laurels to cap off an extremely successful year for them. While the Indian captain, Virat Kohli created an unprecedented standard of winning all three of the major individual laurels at stake to become the first cricketer ever to achieve this elusive feat, the teams of the year saw 4 Indian cricketers made up the ODI unit while 3 saw their names in the much-coveted test cricket team of the year.

ICC Awards Winners 2018

The ICC awards for 2018 without a doubt go to India and the cricketing fraternity recognised this with perfection. Not only was the world-class Kohli rewarded with each and every cricketer of the award at stake, winning each of the ODI and test cricketer of the year awards along with the cricketer of the year. The diminutive player was also handed the helms of both the ODI and test cricket teams of the year.

Must Read: ICC Test Cricket Rankings

For Kohli, it was back to back ODI cricketer of the year awards in a magnificent and outstanding year that saw him assert himself as the standout performer across all three formats. In 2018, Kohli scored 1,322 Test runs at an average of 55.08 in 13 matches with five hundreds while in 14 ODIs he amassed 1202 runs at an astonishing average of 133.55 with six centuries. He also scored a consistent 211 runs in 10 T20Is through the year.

From the country, Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant and Jasprit Bumrah found their place in the test team of the year with Kohli and Bumrah retaining their place in the ODI line-up as well. Rohit Sharma and Kuldeep Yadav were the other two names to be included in the ODI side.

ICC Awards Winners 2018

Another side that dominated proceedings in international cricket last year was Team New Zealand and it was rewarded for its stunning performances with 3 of its cricketers being incorporated in the ICC test cricket team of the year with Kane Williamson, Tom Latham and Henry Nicholls.

England, meanwhile, was dominant in the ODI line-up with four of their cricketers being included in the side with Joe Root, Jos Buttler, Ben Stokes and Jonny Bairstow.

Must Read: ICC Rating for Perth Pitch Draws Flak from Experts

There were plenty of other awards at hand as well with the ICC emerging player of the year and ICC T20 performance of the year among the other major laurels to grab. We take a look at all the ICC Awards Winners 2018 and the team of the year along with the selection panel that selected the winners.

ICC Awards Winners 2018

ICC Test Cricket Player of the Year: Virat Kohli (India) with Kagiso Rabada (South Africa) second.

ICC ODI Player of the Year: Virat Kohli (India) with Rashid Khan (Afghanistan) second

ICC Cricketer of the Year: Virat Kohli (India) with Kagiso Rabada (South Africa) second.

ICC Emerging Player of the Year: Rishabh Pant (India)

ICC Associate Player of the Year: Calum McLeod (Scotland)

ICC Spirit of Cricket Award: Kane Williamson (New Zealand)

ICC Umpire of the Year: Kumar Dharmasena (Sri Lanka)

ICC T20I Performance of the Year: Aaron Finch (Australia) for 172 against Zimbabwe in Harare in July 2018

ICC Fan’s Moment of the Year: India winning U19 World Cup

Must Read: Indian record in New Zealand in ODIs

ICC Team of the Year

ICC Test Team of the Year: Tom Latham (New Zealand), Dimuth Karunaratne (Sri Lanka), Kane Williamson (New Zealand), Virat Kohli (India) (c), Henry Nicholls (New Zealand), Rishabh Pant (India) (wk), Jason Holder (Windies), Kagiso Rabada (South Africa), Nathan Lyon (Australia), Jasprit Bumrah (India), Mohammad Abbas (Pakistan)

ICC ODI Team of the Year: Rohit Sharma (India), Jonny Bairstow (England), Virat Kohli (India) (c), Joe Root (England), Ross Taylor (New Zealand), Jos Buttler (England) (wk), Ben Stokes (England), Mustafizur Rahman (Bangladesh), Rashid Khan (Afghanistan), Kuldeep Yadav (India), Jasprit Bumrah (India)

ICC Awards Winners 2018

The panel which made the selection: 

Javed Hamid Kakar, Emal Pasarly (Afghanistan)

 Lisa Sthalekar, Andrew Wu, Mike Hussey (Australia)

Utpal Shuvro, M. Farid Ahmed, Athar Ali Khan (Bangladesh)

Julian Guyer, Lawrence Booth (England)

Sunandan Lele, Jasvinder Sidhu (India)

 Ian Callendar, Barry Chambers (Ireland)

Must Read: ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 Format, schedule, venue and tickets

 Mark Geenty, Ian Smith (New Zealand)

Peter Borren (Netherlands)

Ramiz Raja, Abdul Mohi Shah, Mazhar Arshad, Bazid Khan (Pakistan)

 Shaun Pollock, Neil Manthorp, Firdose Moonda (South Africa)

 Saroj Pathirana, Russel Arnold, Rex Clementine (Sri Lanka)

 Peter Della Penna (USA), Ian Bishop, Barry Wilkinson, Vinode Mamchan (West Indies)

Tristan Holme, Mehluli Sibanda, Mpumelelo Mbangwa (Zimbabwe)

For more articles like ICC Awards Winners 2018, do Subscribe to our newsletter and follow us on FacebookTwitter and Google+..

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The content and images used on this site are copyright protected and copyrights vests with their respective owners. We make every effort to link back to original content whenever possible. If you own rights to any of the images, and do not wish them to appear here, please contact us and they will be promptly removed. Usage of content and images on this website is intended to promote our works and no endorsement of the artist shall be implied. Read more detailed ​​disclaimer
Copyright © 2019 Tentaran.com. All rights reserved.
× How can I help you?