Five Teams Has lost due to the ICC Rules in Cricket World Cup

Please follow and like us:

ICC Rules World Cup 2019 – England and New Zealand have played the best match of a world cup final. After 102 overs the two teams were not been separated. This was a neck to neck battle which England clinched it due to the ICC Rules.

ICC Rules World Cup 2019

Many of the current players and the former players have condiment the rules of ICC and they also said that the rules need to change.

ICC Rules World Cup 2019

But today we bring the other instances where ICC rules have benefited the opposite team instead of a deserving team.

The World Cup 1992 – England Vs South Africa – This was a rain-affected match where England batted first and scored 245 runs in their 45 overs. The match was reduced to 45 overs due to rain. In reply, South Africa gave a good performance in their first appearance in the World Cup tournament. Even though they had an issue of the slow run rate and for which they were fined but the Proteas were well on course. As they needed 30 balls 47 runs. Just then the rain interrupted the game, the target was revised to 13 balls 22 runs. Later this target was revised again to 7 balls 22 runs and more 12 minutes of rain the target was seemed ridiculously impossible for South Africa. They required 22 runs from just one delivery.

England Vs South Africa

Must Read: International Cricket Council: ICC cricket rules and regulations

ICC Rules World Cup 2019

The 1999 World Cup – Australia Vs South Africa – From this loss in the semi-finals, South Africa got the chokers tag. The Aussies were restricted for just 213 runs. In reply, South Africa was blown away because of Warne Magic. Warny helped Australia’s fight as their noses were ahead in this game. But Lance Klausner was firm at his end with Allan Donald. When Donald miscued the shot he ran for a single but his partner didn’t respond to him. Before Donald reach his crease he was run out by the wicketkeeper. Australia won this match, but it was a tie. The Aussies were the champions based on a better run rate.

Australia Vs South Africa

2003 world cup – Sri Lanka Vs South Africa – This is the third instance where the unlucky South African team was involved. This instance was related to the 2003 world cup which South Africa had hosted. In this must-win match against Sri Lanka, the rains dashed the hopes of the Proteas. Shaun Pollack got his D/L calculation wrong which the hosts paid a heavy price of that. South Africa needed 229 by the end of the 45th over when Mark Boucher and Lance Klusner were batting. Boucher smashed Murlidaran for six and then he turned down the single on the next ball. Then the match was washed due to the rains lashed out at Durban. Despite scoring 229 runs at the end of 45 overs, the hosts didn’t win because this match was ended in a tie. South Africa’s celebration turned into despair due to they avoided that single run, which made the difference in the end.

Sri Lanka Vs South Africa

Must Read: Can MS Dhoni be part of World T20I in Australia?

ICC Rules World Cup 2019

The Debacle of the Pakistani Team – The men in green had two serve losses in their first two games. They had scored only 3 points from the five matches they played. But Pakistan made a good comeback as they won the games after the heavy losses to India and West Indies. But by the end of the group stage, Pakistan and New Zealand were on the same points because New Zealand also lost their last 3 games in the league stage. Still, the Kiwis qualify for the semi-finals of the world cup 2019. Due to a better run rate. Many cricketing fraternities were upset and criticised the rule after Pakistan’s omission.

Pakistani Team

2019 World Cup – New Zealand Vs England – This is the latest instance which was a shock, especially to the New Zealand team and their fans. Both the teams scored the same amount of runs and in super over too, England and New Zealand scored 15. But the harsh thing was England won the world cup but not New Zealand. The hosts won because they scored more boundaries then the New Zealand team. Sadly the Kiwis had to pay the biggest price due to an ICC Rule.

New Zealand Vs England

Must Read: Cricket WC 2019 Awards Winners List 

For more article like ICC Rules World Cup 2019, do follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The content and images used on this site are copyright protected and copyrights vests with their respective owners. We make every effort to link back to original content whenever possible. If you own rights to any of the images, and do not wish them to appear here, please contact us and they will be promptly removed. Usage of content and images on this website is intended to promote our works and no endorsement of the artist shall be implied. Read more detailed ​​disclaimer
Copyright © 2022 All rights reserved.
× How can I help you?