ICC World Test Championship Points Table

Please follow and like us:

ICC test championship points table – The 2019–21 ICC World Test Championship started from 1 August 2019 with the first match of the Ashes Test Series 2019. It will end in June 2021 at Lord’s in England. If in case, the final match ends in a draw or tie, both the teams playing the final will be declared as joint champions of the ICC World Test championship.

ICC world test championship points table

icc test championship points table

The ICC Test Championship presents nine of the twelve Test-playing nations. Each of them will play a Test series against six of the other eight teams which means all teams will play six series (3 at home and 3 away), but will not play the same number of Tests. Each team will be able to score a maximum of 120 points from each series and the two teams scoring the highest points will play the final.

ICC test championship points table

Some of the Test series in this Championship is also part of a longer ongoing series, like the Ashes Test Series 2019. Some of these nine teams will also be playing additional Test matches during this period which are not going to be a part of this Championship but, a part of the ICC Future Tours Programme for 2018–23.

ICC launched the World Test Championship on 29 July 2019 and the final will be played in June 2021.

Must Read:IPL Auction 2021: Full list of players sold and unsold

ICC test championship points table schedule

Format of ICC test championship

  • The tournament will be played for two years. Each team will play with six other teams, three at home and three away.
  • Each series composes of two to five Test matches. Therefore, all the participants will not be able to play the same number of Tests, but they will surely play the same number of series.
  • At the end of the league, the top two teams will play a final in England in June 2021. Each match is scheduled for five days.

Do read:IPL 2021 Retained Players List

ICC test championship schedule

Point scoring

  • The same number of points will be given from each series, regardless of series length so that countries that play fewer tests are not deprived of points. The points will be awarded only for match results and not for the series results. These points will be divided equally between all the matches in the series.
  • In a five-match series, 20% of the points will be available for each match and in a two-match series, 50% of the points will be available for each match.

ICC test championship points table

  • ICC has also decided that in case the final match of the world test ends in a tie, both the team will be declared as joint champions. This means that after each match, a side will be awarded a half, a third, a quarter, a fifth, a sixth, an eighth, a ninth, a tenth, a twelfth or a fifteenth of the total points available from the series, depending on the result and how many matches the series happen to consist of.

Must Read:IPL 2021 Released Players List

Each series will carry a maximum of 120 points. Check out the table-

ICC World Test Championship- Distributions of points

2 60 30 20 0
3 40 20 13 0
4 30 15 10 0
5 24 12 8 0

MIS – Matches in series

WPT – Win Points

TPT – Tie Points

DRPT – Draw Points

DPT – Defeat Points

Latest Updated ICC Test Championship Points Table

TEAM Matches Points Rating
NZ 27 3198 118
IND 32 3765 118
AUS 31 3498 113
ENG 44 4734 108
PAK 26 2328 90
SA 29 2595 89
SL 33 2742 83
WI 28 2252 80
BAN 20 1020 51

Participants of ICC World Test Championship

  • The nine teams that will be participating in ICC Test Championship are Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, and West Indies.
  • India and Pakistan will not be playing against each other in the first and second editions of the tournament.
  • The three teams of the ICC who will not participate are Afghanistan, Ireland, and Zimbabwe.

ICC test championship points table

  • These are the three lowest-ranked full members of the ICC. These members have been included in the ICC Future Tours Programme as they will be playing Test matches during this period against Championship participants and each other (12 each- Ireland and Afghanistan, 21- Zimbabwe) but these will have no bearing on the Championship.

Do read: Amazing Facts about the Cricket Ball

ICC test championship points system

For more articles like, “ICC test championship points table schedule”, do follow us on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram. For watching our collection of videos, follow us on YouTube.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The content and images used on this site are copyright protected and copyrights vests with their respective owners. We make every effort to link back to original content whenever possible. If you own rights to any of the images, and do not wish them to appear here, please contact us and they will be promptly removed. Usage of content and images on this website is intended to promote our works and no endorsement of the artist shall be implied. Read more detailed ​​disclaimer
Copyright © 2019 Tentaran.com. All rights reserved.
× How can I help you?