India V. Sri Lanka Second Test Preview

Please follow and like us:

Match Highlights:

  • The second match of the series begins tomorrow
  • The match starts 9:30 am IST
  • The first match ended in a draw


The Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium, Nagpur plays host to the second test match of the three-match series between India and Sri Lanka. Sri Lanka’s tour of India began with both the sides playing out a riveting first test match only a few days back which India was unlucky to not win courtesy of poor weather conditions. India will be looking to better their performance of the last match and grab the lead in the series by winning the second match. An underperforming Sri Lanka, on the other hand, will be looking to sort out their batting woes and finally win a test against India having been schooled by the hosts in the longer format of the game in recent history.


Playing on a pitch that favors fast bowling India will sorely miss their ace bowler Bhuvneshwar Kumar who has been granted leave due to his marriage on 23rd. Another miss for the Indians will be opener Shikhar Dhawan who along with Kumar was the top performers for India in the first match. However, the strong Indian bench is expected to step up with Murali Vijay expected to be drafted in place of Dhawan and Tamil Nadu all-rounder Vijay Shankar receiving his maiden call-up and is expected to take Kumar’s place.


Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Ajinkya Rahane and captain Virat Kohli will be the main players for India. If the first match was anything to go by, if even one of them fires a win is certainly on the cards for India.


Squads for both the teams:




Ajinkya Rahane, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli (c), Murali Vijay, Hardik Pandya, Wriddhiman Saha(wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ishant Sharma, Cheteshwar Pujara and Lokesh Rahul


Sri Lanka Cricket


Dinesh Chandimal (c), Dumuth Karunaratne, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Dhananjaya de Silva, Angelo Mathews, Lahiru Thirimane, Rangana Herath, Suranga Lakmal, Dilruwan Perera, Lahiru Gamage, Roshan Silva, Niroshan Dickwella, Dasun Shanaka, Vishwa Fernando and Lakshan Sandakan


Recommended Reading: The Haryana Hurricane: Kapil Dev


For more updates, do Subscribe to our newsletter and follow us on FacebookTwitter and Google+.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The content and images used on this site are copyright protected and copyrights vests with their respective owners. We make every effort to link back to original content whenever possible. If you own rights to any of the images, and do not wish them to appear here, please contact us and they will be promptly removed. Usage of content and images on this website is intended to promote our works and no endorsement of the artist shall be implied. Read more detailed ​​disclaimer
Copyright © 2019 All rights reserved.
× How can I help you?