Indian Team For ODI Series Against Sri Lanka Announced

Please follow and like us:

Match Highlights:

  • BCCI released the team for the 3rd test and ODI series
  • Kohli is rested for the matches
  • Rohit will lead the side

The Board Of Control For Cricket In India announced the team for the third and final test match and the ODI series to follow against Sri Lanka at home at a recently concluded meeting. The most notable omission from the ODI side is that of captain Virat Kohli who has had a long season. The move does not come as a surprise keeping in lieu Kohli’s recent statements in which he had made it clear that he wasn’t a robot and will need to take some rest sooner rather than later. Opener Rohit Sharma has been announced as the captain for the matches.


Ashwin and Jadeja’s continued exclusion from the ODI side is a clear indication that they are not in the future scheme of things in the shorter format. With the BCCI also saying that both have been intimidated about their future keeping in mind the ODI World Cup to be played in 2019, the move is being seen as a clear indication that the BCCI has decided to go ahead with two different teams for both the formats from now on. Some eye catching slections include Iyer and Manish Pandey who have been drafted into the side on the back of some strong domestic performances.


“I would not say it is cast in stone but it could well be that Indian cricket is finally moving towards the direction of having separate teams for red and white ball cricket,” former India wicketkeeper and cricket analyst Deep Dasgupta said. “Possibly, the two wrist spinners (Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav) are more attacking and wicket-taking options. In case they need a restrictive option, they have Axar Patel, who can bowl those tight lines.”


India squad for the third Test: Virat Kohli (Captain), M Vijay, KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (Vice-Captain), Rohit Sharma, Wriddhiman Saha, R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Vijay Shankar


India squad for the ODI series: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni (WK), Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Siddarth Kaul.



Recommended Reading: Bhuvneshwar Kumar set to marry Nupur Nagar


For more updates, do Subscribe to our newsletter and follow us on FacebookTwitter and Google+.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The content and images used on this site are copyright protected and copyrights vests with their respective owners. We make every effort to link back to original content whenever possible. If you own rights to any of the images, and do not wish them to appear here, please contact us and they will be promptly removed. Usage of content and images on this website is intended to promote our works and no endorsement of the artist shall be implied. Read more detailed ​​disclaimer
Copyright © 2022 All rights reserved.
× How can I help you?