Indian Women Hockey Team wins Asian Champions Trophy

Please follow and like us:

India won Women’s Asian Champion Trophy Hockey Tournament in Singapore on Saturday. India beat China by 2-1 with a last-gasp goal in the final to emerge as a winner.

hockey tournament

Deepika Thakur, the highest goal scorer of the hockey tournament scored the winner in the 60th minute as she slammed home a penalty corner rebound to trigger celebrations among Indian camp.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi took to Twitter to congratulate the team.

Congress President Sonia Gandhi also congratulated the team for clinching the trophy. “This victory confirms India’s supremacy in Hockey in Asia,” she said.

India had lost to China in the round-robin stage on Friday

Hockey India (HI) announced a cash prize of Rs 2 lakhs (around $2994) for each player and chief coach Neil Hawgood.

HI has also announced Rs 1 lakh (around $1497) for the other support staff of the team. A prize of Rs 1 lakh was announced for Deepika.

For more updates, do Subscribe to our newsletter and follow us on FacebookTwitter and Google+.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The content and images used on this site are copyright protected and copyrights vests with their respective owners. We make every effort to link back to original content whenever possible. If you own rights to any of the images, and do not wish them to appear here, please contact us and they will be promptly removed. Usage of content and images on this website is intended to promote our works and no endorsement of the artist shall be implied. Read more detailed ​​disclaimer
Copyright © 2022 All rights reserved.
× How can I help you?