FIFA World Cup 2018 Award Winners

Please follow and like us:

We take a look at the winners of the individual Fifa World Cup 2018 award winners. The men, who outshone everyone with their stupendous and incredible performances, at times being the sole reason for their team’s win, were awarded by FIFA in the awards ceremony after the final. Featuring some fine individual performances, this world cup had some worthy winners of its prestigious awards. Here’s the list of individual Fifa World Cup 2018 award winners :

individual fifa world cup 2018 award winners

Adidas FIFA Golden Boot: Harry Kane (6 goals)

Harry KANE (#ENG)
Romelu LUKAKU (#BEL)

The player with the most number of goals at the end of the world cup is awarded the Golden Boot. England captain Harry Kane took home the award after scoring 6 goals in the group stages itself. With 3 penalties, 2 deflections and 1 header and no goals in the knockout stages, Kane will not be remembered as the most impressive player to take the award home. French forward Griezmann and Belgium striker Lukaku came second and third with 4 goals each; Griezmann edging Lukaku with more assists.

FIFA Golden Ball: Luka Modric

FIFA Silver Ball: Eden Hazard

FIFA Bronze Ball: Antoine Griezmann

Introduced in 1982, the Golden Ball is the award which every player vies to win. Awarded to the best player at the tournament, the Golden Ball is a stamp on your class and talent throughout the tournament. Billed as the biggest individual honour one can win at the world cup, the golden ball competition is as fierce as it gets. Runners-up Croatia’s Luka Modric took him the award after dazzling the world with his out of the world performances. A midfield maestro, he was the key of Croatia’s success this tournament, controlling their play every match. Belgium’s Hazard and France’s Griezmann came second and third in the running.

fifa world cup 2018 award winners

FIFA Golden Glove: Thibaut Courtois

Belgium’s Thibaut Courtois was given the top honour among goal-keepers. Awarded for the best goal-keeping all world cup, the golden glove is given to the keeper who made not only the best saves but was also crucial to organising his team’s defence and distributing the ball well.

FIFA Fair Play Award: Spain

The Fair Play Award is handed to the team which boasts of the best disciplinary record and is selected by the FIFA Technical Study Group. Despite having an average tournament, exiting in the quarter-finals, Spain managed to win this award.

FIFA Young Player Award: Kylian Mbappé

FIFA’s Young Player award recognises the impact made by young footballers in the competition. Factors like skill, talent, maturity to read the game and lead from the front, fair play and knowledge of the game and tactical nuance along with ability to take pressure are put into consideration when deciding the winner. And this year there was no one other than French striker Kylian Mbappé who deserved the award more. The striker burned experienced teams and defenders with his pace, shooting and skill, breaking a streak of records in the process, along with becoming only the second teenager to score in a world cup final.

For more updates, do Subscribe to our newsletter and follow us on FacebookTwitter and Google+.

Individual FIFA World Cup 2018 Award Winners

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The content and images used on this site are copyright protected and copyrights vests with their respective owners. We make every effort to link back to original content whenever possible. If you own rights to any of the images, and do not wish them to appear here, please contact us and they will be promptly removed. Usage of content and images on this website is intended to promote our works and no endorsement of the artist shall be implied. Read more detailed ​​disclaimer
Copyright © 2019 All rights reserved.
× How can I help you?