Indian Premier League: Top 40 Interesting Facts About IPL That Will Make You Crazy

Please follow and like us:

Interesting facts about IPLIPL’s Amazing and unbelievable, facts and Interesting stats: When it comes to cricket no country can beat India, and the same reason why IPL is like a festival in India, people from all part of the world enjoys this cricket festival. IPL gets a lot of love from India as well as other countries. The IPL started in the year 2008 and since then a total of 13 seasons have been played so far. Through out the starting of this world class league, it has been very successful.interesting facts about ipl

Today we present in front of you 40 interesting facts of IPL that you barely remember or keep an eye on those. Perhaps by now you will be unaware of these interesting facts.

Let’s take a look at 40 interesting facts of IPL

1- The BCCI (Board of Control for Cricket in India) announced the start of the Indian Premier League in 2007 and the league was started a year after the announcement in 2008.

2- The master mind of IPL was Lalit Modi. Hence, he was also the commissioner of this league for the first 2 seasons of the IPL. However, later there were many big allegations of corruption against him, due to which BCCI suspended him.

3. Before the IPL, ICL (Indian Cricket League) was played in the country.  Apart from this, some of the IDL of IPL came to BCCI.

4- The first match of IPL was played on 18 April 2008. The match took place between Kolkata Knight Riders and RCB.  This match was won by Kolkata.

Interesting facts about IPL

5- The first ball of IPL was bowled by Praveen Kumar and that ball was faced by Sourav Ganguly.

6- The first four IPL boundaries were scored by Brendon McCullum while playing for Kolkata Knight Riders.

7- The first six of the IPL was also scored by Brendon McCullum.

8. The first wicket of 8-IPL was taken by Zaheer Khan and he dismissed Sourav Ganguly.

9. The first catch of season 1-IPL was taken by Jacques Kallis he caught Sourav Ganguly off Zaheer Khan.

Must Read:IPL 2021 New Rules

10. The Deccan Chargers, Gujarat Lions, Kochi Tuskers Kerala, Pune Warriors India and Rising Pune Super giants used to be IPL teams at one time, but now these teams are not part of the IPL.

11- No Pakistani players have the right to participate in the IPL. However, at the time when the IPL started, there were many teams of Pakistan players at that time. But later players from this country were banned for taking part the IPL.

Interesting facts about IPL

12-Royal Challengers Bangalore’s former cricketer Anil Kumble also has a very interesting record, Kumble is the only player to have won the Man of the Match award even after losing in the final.  He got this man of the match even after losing in the final against Deccan Chargers in the year 2009.

13-Manish Pandey and Robin Uthappa also have a very interesting record, both players have played in the same team every time in the first 10 seasons, during which they played for Mumbai Indians, RCB, Pune Warriors and KKR.

14-Brendon McCullum was the first player to score a century in the IPL.

15-Manish Pandey was the first Indian player to score a century in the IPL.

16-Virat Kohli scored a total of 4 centuries in IPL 2016. This is the highest number of centuries scored by a player in any season.

17-Rajat Bhatia is one such player who has been a part of the IPL for the first ten seasons he has played as the most uncapped player till now.

18- IPL history, former cricketer Adam Gilchrist is the only player who bowled the only ball and got a wicket on it.

Interesting facts about IPL

19-Chennai Super Kings has been the only team that has not changed its captain so far.

20. 2015 IPL match, the umpire asked Kieron Pollard to remain calm, then Kieron Pollard came with a tape over his mouth.

Must Read:Who Do You Think Will Win IPL 2021 – Do Vote

21- In the 2013 IPL, Dale Steyn made a record for throwing the most dot balls in a season by throwing 212 dot balls.

22- Chennai Super Kings have the highest win percentage. They have won 106 out of 179 matches so far and their win percentage is 59.28.

23- Mumbai Indians have the record of winning the most matches in IPL. They have registered 118 wins in 202 matches in IPL.

24- Pune Warriors India has the lowest win percentage in the IPL, having won only 12 matches out of its 46 and its winning percentage is just 26.66.

25- Delhi Capitals holds the record for the most matches lost in the IPL. Delhi’s team has lost 101 matches out of 192 so far.

26- Only 2 Indian players have been able to become Player of the Tournament in IPL so far and these 2 players are Sachin Tendulkar and Virat Kohli.

Interesting facts about IPL

27- Virat Kohli has scored the highest number of runs in IPL so far, which is 5878 runs.

28- The highest number of wickets in IPL has been taken by Lasith Malinga, who has 170 wickets.

29- Chris Gayle has hit the maximum sixes in the IPL so far, who has hit a total of 349 sixes.

30- Shikhar Dhawan has hit the highest number of fours so far in the IPL, which has scored 591 fours.

31- Harbhajan Singh has done the highest number of dot balls in IPL so far, he has done 1249 dot balls so far.

32- The record for the biggest individual innings in the IPL is in the name of Chris Gayle, who has played 175 innings in the IPL.

33- The record of best bowling in the IPL is in the name of Alzari Joseph, who has taken 6 wickets in the IPL with just 12 runs.

Must Read:IPL 14 Team Players Coaches Owners Captains List

34- Record of fastest century in IPL is named after Chris Gayle. Who scored a century from just 30 balls against Pune Warriors while playing for RCB.

35- The record of the fastest half-century in IPL is in the name of KL Rahul. Who had scored a half-century off just 14 balls against Delhi Capitals while playing for Kings XI Punjab.

Interesting facts about IPL

36- David Warner is the only player in IPL history to win the Orange Cap in IPL 3 times in total.  He has won the Orange Cap in 2014, 2017 and 2019.

37- Bhuvneshwar Kumar is the only bowler in the IPL who has been Purple Cap winner 2 times in a row. He won the Purple Cap 2 times in a row in 2016 and 2017.

38- Shane Watson, Sunil Narayan and Andre Russell have won the Man of the Tournament title 2 times in IPL.

39- The first season of IPL was won by Rajasthan Royals.

40- Mumbai Indians have won the IPL the most times so far. The team of Mumbai Indians has become the champion team of IPL for a total of 5 times.

Must Read:Who will lead Delhi Capitals in IPL 2021 in absence of Iyer? – Do Vote

To keep yourself abreast with the Interesting facts about IPL, do follow us on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram. For watching our collection of videos, follow us on YouTube.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The content and images used on this site are copyright protected and copyrights vests with their respective owners. We make every effort to link back to original content whenever possible. If you own rights to any of the images, and do not wish them to appear here, please contact us and they will be promptly removed. Usage of content and images on this website is intended to promote our works and no endorsement of the artist shall be implied. Read more detailed ​​disclaimer
Copyright © 2022 All rights reserved.
× How can I help you?