IPL 2018: Is It Finally Bangalore’s Year?

Please follow and like us:

Is it going to be another miss or finally a hit for the Royal Challengers Bangalore side this season of the Indian Premier League? The ever so strong side has unfortunately always come out short every season despite being favourites. Traditionally having boasted of one of the best batting line-ups in the history of IPL, Royal Challengers Bangalore have managed to reach three finals but to no avail. Chopping and changing this time around by letting go of some key names and drafting in some new fresh world-class faces and youth is it finally time that Bangalore live up to their hype and life the title for the first time in their history.

IPL 2018

As we ponder upon Royal Challengers Bangalore’s chances in the tournament let’s take a look at how they went about in the auction. One of the most surprising moments of the auction held earlier in January was when Bangalore decided not to retain devastating opener Chris Gayle who was eventually nabbed up by Kings Xi Punjab. This didn’t hamper Bangalore’s fabled batting line-up though as they signed up England all-rounder Chris Woakes for 7.4 crore making him their highest paid player in the process. Going into the auction with a purse of 49 crore after spending the big bucks to retain stars like captain Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers and youngster Sarfaraz Khan, Bangalore ended up spending 48.85 crore out of their available budget to draft in 21 players.


Must Read: IPL 2018 Orange Cap: Significance And Previous Winners


With two of the best batsmen in the world Kohli and de Villiers being accompanied with some of the game’s most talented and explosive hitters in McCullum, De Cock and Sarfaraz, Bangalore once again is a perfect batting side. Typically known to not be so strong in their bowling department, Bangalore has this time though decided to work on that side of their team after roping in Yadav, Chahal, Tim Southee and Negi. Is this move finally the answer to all their questions and will it finally help ensure that the team life their first title? Only time will tell.


Here’s the Royal Challengers Bangalore complete squad

Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Sarfaraz Khan, Chris Woakes, Yuzvendra Singh Chahal, Umesh Yadav, Brendon McCullum, Washington Sundar, Navdeep Saini, Quinton De Kock, Mohammed Siraj, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Colin De Grandhomme, M. Ashwin, Parthiv Patel, Moeen Ali, Mandeep Singh, Manan Vohra, Pawan Negi, Tim Southee, Kulwant Khejroliya, Aniket Choudhary, Pavan Deshpande, Anirudha Ashok Joshi
Recommended reading: IPL team Captains and Coaches

For more updates, do Subscribe to our newsletter and follow us on FacebookTwitter and Google+

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The content and images used on this site are copyright protected and copyrights vests with their respective owners. We make every effort to link back to original content whenever possible. If you own rights to any of the images, and do not wish them to appear here, please contact us and they will be promptly removed. Usage of content and images on this website is intended to promote our works and no endorsement of the artist shall be implied. Read more detailed ​​disclaimer
Copyright © 2021 Tentaran.com. All rights reserved.
× How can I help you?