IPL 2019 Orange Cap: Significance and previous Winners

Please follow and like us:

IPL 2018 promised to be a run fest with the top batting talents in the world set to battle it out for the IPL 2019 orange cap. The orange cap is presented to the leading run-getter in the tournament ever since the incorporation of the tournament. The orange cap is presented to the batsman who has the most runs after every match of the IPL with the highest run-getter at the end of all matches being presented with the IPL 2018 orange cap trophy and the same will happen in IPL 2019.

ipl 2019 orange cap

Ex Sunrisers Hyderabad captain David Warner bagged the prize last year with a mammoth 641 runs from 14 years. He scored a superb knock of 126 which helped him achieve the milestone of 2017 orange cap winner. Overall he hit a mindboggling 63 fours and 26 sixes at an astonishing average of 58 to be head and shoulders above second-placed Gautam Gambhir who had 498 runs. He also the shares the distinction with Chris Gayle of picking up the award the most number of times with two titles. It was a good season for the Sunrisers Hyderabad who also had Bhuvneshwar Kumar pick up the purple cap last season.

IPL Orange cap 2018

However, David Warner’s absence from 2018 edition of the IPL due to a ban by BCCI for one year after being found guilty of ball tampering with the Australian team in South Africa, threw the gate open for others to stake their claim on the IPL 2018 orange cap.

Let’s take a look at the previous IPL 2018 orange cap winners:

Season PlayerMat Runs
2008 Shaun Marsh(KXIP)11616
2009 Matthew Hayden (CSK)12 572
2010 Sachin Tendulkar (MI)15 618
2011Chris Gayle (RCB)12 608
2012 Chris Gayle (RCB)15 733
2013Michael Hussey (CSK)16 733
2014 Robin Uthappa (KKR)16 660
2015David Warner (SRH)14 562
2016 Virat Kohli (RCB)16 973
2017 David Warner (SRH)14 641
2018Kane Williamson (SRH)17 735

Recommended reading: IPL 2019 most expensive players Hindi 

For more updates, do Subscribe to our newsletter and follow us on FacebookTwitter and Google+

One thought on “IPL 2019 Orange Cap: Significance and previous Winners

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The content and images used on this site are copyright protected and copyrights vests with their respective owners. We make every effort to link back to original content whenever possible. If you own rights to any of the images, and do not wish them to appear here, please contact us and they will be promptly removed. Usage of content and images on this website is intended to promote our works and no endorsement of the artist shall be implied. Read more detailed ​​disclaimer
Copyright © 2022 Tentaran.com. All rights reserved.
× How can I help you?