IPL 2018: Rajasthan Royals team and strategy this season

Please follow and like us:

Keen to know about the IPL 2018 Rajasthan Royals team? Known to be the best side in the Indian Premier League circuit to promote and nurture young talent, Rajasthan Royals team are back this season with the same mantra. Splurging 11.5 crores on batsman Jaydev Unadkat, they stayed true to their talent of investing and developing Indians. Sanju Sampson, Rahul Tripathi and Anureet Singh are among some of the notable names that the eagle-eyed scouts of Rajasthan nabbed up from the domestic circuit as they bought 22 players for 65.85 crores.

 Rajasthan Royals
Must Read: IPL 2018: Smith And Warner Out Of This Year’s Edition

One blow to the Rajasthan Royals team though before the season starts is the news of their captain Steve Smith getting banned after being caught guilty of ball tampering during the third test match against South Africa. Being the only player they had retained before the auctions as well, Smith’s importance to the team was immense with his departure also leaving a squad vacant at the top of their batting order. They, however, have looked to quickly sort things as they announced Ajinkya Rahane the new captain of the team. The skilful Indian batsmen are expected to do well in Smith’s absence given his brilliant cricketing brain which is apparent from his batting style. Possessing full knowledge of the game at a young age, the batsman is expected to lead the Royals successfully this season. The Royals have also come out to clarify that Smith will not be a big miss for them with Heinrich Klaasen being expected to be drafted in for him.

Must Read: IPL team Captains and Coaches

Rajasthan Royals Head of Cricket Zubin Bharucha:”Obviously we miss stature of a player like Smith and the quality he brings but as a team, we are absolutely prepared and we obviously got his replacement as Heinrich Klaasen. So, strategically there has been no change, “When we go to auction, we always look for backups.”


Here’s the IPL 2018 Rajasthan Royals team:

Steve Smith, Benjamin Stokes, Jaydev Unadkat, Sanju Samson, Jofra Archer, Krishnappa Gowtham, Jos Buttler, Ajinkya Rahane, Darcy Short, Rahul Tripathi, Dhawal Kulkarni, Zahir Khan Pakteen, Ben Laughlin, Stuart Binny, Dushmantha Chameera, Anureet Singh, Aryaman Vikram Birla, Midhun S, Shreyas Gopal, Prashant Chopra, Jatin Saxena, Ankit Sharma, Mahipal Lomror


For more updates, do Subscribe to our newsletter and follow us on FacebookTwitter and Google+

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The content and images used on this site are copyright protected and copyrights vests with their respective owners. We make every effort to link back to original content whenever possible. If you own rights to any of the images, and do not wish them to appear here, please contact us and they will be promptly removed. Usage of content and images on this website is intended to promote our works and no endorsement of the artist shall be implied. Read more detailed ​​disclaimer
Copyright © 2022 Tentaran.com. All rights reserved.
× How can I help you?