IPL 2018: Smith and Warner out of this year’s edition

Please follow and like us:

The news that Smith And Warner out of IPL 2018 is correct. The nightmare for beleaguered ex Australian captain and vice-captain Steve Smith and David Warner continued after they were banned by the BCCI from participating in IPL 2018. In the aftermath of the ball tampering incident in which Smith and Warner along with Bancroft were found guilty of planning and executing the incident, the BCCI showed that it does not stand for such kind of incidents. Smith and Warner were also banned by Cricket Australia for one year each soon after the BCCI released its press release. Earlier in the day, David Warner had already stepped down as captain of the Sunrisers Hyderabad.

Smith And Warner

Must Read: IPL 2108: Steve Smith steps down as Rajasthan Royals captain after ball-tampering row


Bearing the brunt of their stupid, naïve and unsportsmanlike actions, Steve Smith and David Warner were found guilty of breaking the rules of the game after an investigation carried out by Cricket Australia and the ICC. Sent back from their tour of South Africa, the trio of Smith, Warner, and Bancroft were questioned and a thorough investigation carried out which found the following:


Cricket Australia’s charges against David Warner include the “development of a plan to attempt to artificially alter the condition of the ball” and “instruction to a junior player” to carry out the plan. Steve Smith was accused of”knowledge of a potential plan” and “failure to take steps to seek to prevent the development and implementation of that plan”.


Must Read: IPL team Captains and Coaches


To summarise, Warner came up with the plan to cheat, demonstrated it and told a junior player (Cameron Bancroft) to do it. Smith was aware of the plan but failed to stop it despite being captain of the team.


The result of the investigation leads to Cricket Australia deciding to ban Smith and Warner for one year and Bancroft for 9 months. Earlier in the day, the BCCI had already banned Smith and Warner from this year’s IPL. The decision was made by the Supreme Court-appointed Committee of Administrators, in consultation with the BCCI Acting President CK Khanna, IPL Chairman Rajeev Shukla, and BCCI Acting Hon. Secretary Amitabh Choudhary.


“The BCCI hopes that the cricketers participating in the IPL hold the highest regard for the Spirit of Cricket and Code of Conduct for Players and Match Officials,” the release read further.


For more updates, do Subscribe to our newsletter and follow us on FacebookTwitter and Google+

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The content and images used on this site are copyright protected and copyrights vests with their respective owners. We make every effort to link back to original content whenever possible. If you own rights to any of the images, and do not wish them to appear here, please contact us and they will be promptly removed. Usage of content and images on this website is intended to promote our works and no endorsement of the artist shall be implied. Read more detailed ​​disclaimer
Copyright © 2022 Tentaran.com. All rights reserved.
× How can I help you?