IPL 2019 Mumbai Indians team: Main group kept intact for IPL 2019

Please follow and like us:

All you need to know about the IPL 2019 Mumbai Indians team.

Staying true to their traditional game plan, Mumbai Indians kept their main group intact for the incoming season of the Indian Premier League. With 18 retentions, the three-time champion side who is looking to put behind a dismal previous campaign behind them released 10 players in the progress.IPL 2019 Mumbai Indians team

With Rs 11.15 crores in their artillery, Mumbai’s main strategy heading into the auctions was to stabilise their middle-order, one that was paper thin at best ahead of the new season that will be contested from March 23. Getting in Quinton De Kock from RCG before the window began, in a surprise move, the Mumbai based outfit got in Yuvraj for his base price of Rs.1 crore. After not being favoured by any of the eight participating franchises, Yuvraj was picked up by MI in the final round of auctions with the side opting to go for experience in a bid to bolster their line-up.

In total, the Mumbai Indians bought six players at the IPL Auction 2019 with Barinder Sran being their biggest buy for Rs 3.40 crore, followed by Lasith Malinga who returned to the Mumbai Indians setup for Rs 2 crore.

Also read: List of IPL winners till date

The side who finished fifth in IPL 2018, showing good fighting spirit to keep snapping at the heels of a top 4 finish will continue to be led by their regular captain Rohit Sharma for the 12th season of the premier league. They’ll be looking to get off to a quick start this time around and put to bed issues like a slow start which might have been one of the main causes of concern in recent times.

One of the biggest weaknesses in the side, something they failed to rectify is the lack of a frontline, specialist spinner who can take the mantle of delivering a word class performance. The Indian pitches often conducive to the slower-bowlers could be an area that saw MI pick up the pieces and a decision that they could rue as the season goes on.

The first time introduced midway transfer window which released players before the auction, was a welcome addition to the biggest domestic T20 tournament in the world. Mumbai Indians released list included 1 capped, 5 uncapped and 4 international players. Duminy and Cummins, who will be one of the many Australian players skipping IPL 12, were among the 10 players released by Mumbai Indians. The Reliance Group-owned team made the announcement on Twitter prior to the much-awaited auction with the other players allowed to go including Dananjaya, Rahman, Tiwary, Sangwan, Mohsin Khan, Nidheesh, Lumba and Tajinder Singh Dhillon.

Must read: IPL 2019: Players List and Complete Squad Of All 8 TeamsIPL 2019 Mumbai Indians team players price

IPL 2019 Mumbai Indians team 

Player Traded In: Quinton De Kock traded from RCB

Mumbai Indians Full squad: Rohit Sharma (C), Hardik Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah, Krunal Pandya, Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, Mayank Markande, Rahul Chahar, Anukul Roy, Siddhesh Lad, Aditya Tare, Evin Lewis, Kieron Pollard, Ben Cutting, Mitchell McClenaghan, Adam Milne, Jason Behrendorff, Pankaj Jaiswal, Rasikh Dar, Yuvraj Singh, Lasith Malinga, Anmolpreet Singh, Barinder Sran.

Likely playing XI: Quinton de Kock (wk), Evin Lewis, Rohit Sharma, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Suryakumar Yadav, Yuvraj Singh, Mayank Markande, Mustafizur Rehman/Lasith Malinga, Mitchell McClenaghan, Jasprit Bumrah

Players bought:
Lasith Malinga – Rs 2 crore
Anmolpreet Singh – Rs 80 lakh
Barinder Sran – Rs 3.40 crore
Pankaj Jaiswal – Rs 20 lakh
Rasikh Salam – Rs 20 lakh
Yuvraj Singh – Rs 1 crore

Must read: IPL 2019: Most Expensive Buys

IPL 2019 Mumbai Indians team

Players Retained: Rohit Sharma (C), Hardik Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah, Krunal Pandya, Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, Mayank Markande, Rahul Chahar, Anukul Roy, Siddhesh Lad, Aditya Tare, Evin Lewis, Kieron Pollard, Ben Cutting, Mitchell McClenaghan, Adam Milne, Jason Behrendorff

Players Released: Saurabh Tiwary, Pradeep Sangwan, Mohsin Khan, MD Nidheesh, Sharad Lumba, Tajinder Singh Dhillon, JP Duminy, Pat Cummins, Mustafizur Rahman, Akila Dananjaya.IPL 2019 Mumbai team members

Mumbai Indians schedule in IPL 2019:

Match 1: Mumbai Indians vs Delhi Capitals on March 23 (Sunday) at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai
Match 2: Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Mumbai Indians on March 28 (Thursday) at M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru
Match 3: Kings XI Punjab vs Mumbai Indians on March 30 (Saturday) at Punjab Cricket Association IS Bindra Stadium, Mohali
Match 4: Mumbai Indians vs Chennai Super Kings on April 03 (Wednesday) at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai

Recommended reading: IPL 2019 Delhi Capitals team 

For more articles like IPL 2019 Mumbai Indians team, do follow us on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The content and images used on this site are copyright protected and copyrights vests with their respective owners. We make every effort to link back to original content whenever possible. If you own rights to any of the images, and do not wish them to appear here, please contact us and they will be promptly removed. Usage of content and images on this website is intended to promote our works and no endorsement of the artist shall be implied. Read more detailed ​​disclaimer
Copyright © 2019 Tentaran.com. All rights reserved.
× How can I help you?