IPL Records: IPL Orange Cap Winners List from 2008 to 2019

Please follow and like us:

IPL Orange Cap Winners List from 2008 to 2019 – With a new season every year, the Indian Premier League is getting better and even more exciting. Fans wait to see the IPL matches while players look forward to playing every season with new energies.

ipl orange cap winners list from 2008 to 2019

The orange cap in IPL is given to batsmen. This cap is given to only one player with the most number of runs in that season. So let’s see which players got the orange cap in the IPL seasons so far.

From 2008 to 2019, here are the players who won the Orange Cap in the Indian Premier League – IPL Orange Cap Winners List from 2008 to 2019

Shaun Marsh – (2008)

शॉन मार्श (2008)

The Aussie Batsman had an amazing IPL 2008 season. Shaun Marsh was seen in his top form which is why, he was the first player to win the Orange Cap in the 2008 IPL season.

He played 11 matches for King XI Punjab and in that, he scored 616 runs to his name. Marsh also recorded the most sixes hit by a KXIP player in that season by smashing 21 sixes.

Matthew Hayden – (2009)

मैथ्यू हेडन (2009)

Another Aussie who featured on this list. Hayden was explosive with the bat for Australia. In the second season of the IPL, he repeated that for another yellow army of his. The Aussie opener rained runs with his mongoose bat for Chennai Super Kings in the 2009 season. He became the strongest contender and won the Orange Cap in 2009 by scoring 572 amazing runs in just 12 IPL matches.

IPL Orange Cap Winners List from 2008 to 2019

Sachin Tendulkar (2010)

Sachin Tendulkar – Mumbai Indians

He was the first Indian to win the orange cap in the IPL. Sachin is also known as the God of cricket. His records at the International levels speak a lot about him. In 2010, he had a great batting performance while playing for Mumbai Indians. He scored the highest number of runs for MI in that season with 618 runs from 15 matches with 1 hundred to his name.

Chris Gayle– (2011)

chris gayle

The Universal Boss has many IPL records to his name. It was in 2011 when the Gayle Storm arrived. He was seen in his amazing hitting form and due to that, the Orange Cap was given to the West Indian Chris Gayle. He played for Royal Challengers Bangalore in that season and scored 608 runs in just 12 matches.

Must Read: MS Dhoni Stats: Unbreakable Records of MS Dhoni

Chris Gayle – (2012)

Chris Gayle - Royal Challengers Bangalore

Like we said, the Universal Boss has many records. He unleashed himself at the IPL stage again. No one denied that Chris Gayle’s batting was phenomenal in the T20s and the IPL. He is the only player to win the Orange Cap for two back to back years. Gayle won the Orange Cap in 2011 and 2012. He scored 733 runs in just 15 matches.

IPL Orange Cap Winners List from 2008 to 2019

Michael Hussey– (2013)

Hussey is still famously known as Mr Cricket. Michael Hussey was a very consistent performer for Australia in the middle order. He was one who anchored many innings for Australia and made them win many matches. But for CSK, he batted as an opener and got adjusted to that role quickly. He took the Orange Cap in the 2013 season. Chennai Super Kings was blessed to have an opener like Hussey who surpassed all the other batsmen in the 2013 IPL. He scored 733 runs in 16 matches that he played as an opening batsman.

Robin Uthappa – (2014)

रॉबिन उथप्पा (2014)

Robin Uthappa was also included in the World T20 winning squad. He is a talented player who never used his opportunity at the International level. In the 2014 IPL season, Uthappa played for Kolkata Knight Riders and scored 660 runs in 16 matches. He perfectly scored those runs and that was the reason why he became the winner of the Orange Cap in that season.

IPL Orange Cap Winners List from 2008 to 2019

David Warner – (2015)

david warner

Dangerous and Explosive Warner has been a consistent performer for Australia in all the three formats. Warner has done well in IPL too. In the 2015 season, Warner took the orange cap for the first time. He got that by scoring 562 runs for Sunrisers Hyderabad from 14 matches.

Must Read: Most Runs by Indian Players in ICC Cricket World Cup

Virat Kohli – (2016)

virat kohli

The King of Cricket let his bat do the talking. In the 2016 IPL season, Royal Challengers Bangalore entered the finals of the IPL. That was only because of King Kohli who scored the most runs for RCB. Kohli earned the Orange Cap after scoring 973 runs from 16 matches. The 973 runs from Virat Kohli is the most runs by any IPL player in a single season. He also scored 4 IPL centuries which is also the most by any player till now.

IPL Orange Cap Winners List from 2008 to 2019

David Warner – (2017)

ipl t20 david warner

Warner has been the most consistent batsmen in IPL history. The Aussie opener is known for his powerful batting. He played for the Orange Army Sunrisers Hyderabad and has been very successful for them till now. In the 2017 season of the IPL, he again grabbed his hands on the Orange Cap. Warner became the highest run-scorer for SRH by scoring 641 runs from 14 matches.

Kane Williamson – (2018)

केन विलियमसन (2018)

The only player from New Zealand and the second captain to have featured on this list. Kane Williamson also plays for Sunrisers Hyderabad. He is not just a player but is a captain too. He is also the second player from SRH to be on this list. In the 2018 IPL season, the Kiwi batsman was the top run-scorer. Williamson scored 735 runs from 17 matches.

IPL Orange Cap Winners List from 2008 to 2019

David Warner– (2019)

david warner

Sunrisers Hyderabad own the orange jersey in IPL and David Warner owns the Orange Cap in IPL history. Warner is the only player to win three orange caps in IPL so far. In the last season, Warner played only 12 matches and scored 692 runs to his name. He scored those runs at an impressive average of 69.20 and a strike rate of 143.86. In this season, he scored one century and eight half-centuries. The 8 fifty plus scorers by Warner is the most by any batsmen in a single season of the IPL.

Must Read: Most Runs by Indian Players in ICC Cricket World Cup

For more articles like, “IPL Orange Cap Winners List from 2008 to 2019”, do follow us on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The content and images used on this site are copyright protected and copyrights vests with their respective owners. We make every effort to link back to original content whenever possible. If you own rights to any of the images, and do not wish them to appear here, please contact us and they will be promptly removed. Usage of content and images on this website is intended to promote our works and no endorsement of the artist shall be implied. Read more detailed ​​disclaimer
Copyright © 2022 Tentaran.com. All rights reserved.
× How can I help you?