List of chief guest on republic day parade till now (1950 – 2022)

Please follow and like us:

List of chief guest on republic day parade till now – Our country is celebrating 73rd Republic Day on 26 January this year. The entire Rajpath is decorated to celebrate this National Day. Every year a grand parade is organized on the occasion of Republic Day, along with tableau from many states.

list of chief guest on republic day parade till now

To witness this event, every year Head or special representative of another country is invited to India. In this article, we’ll tell you about the special guests who have been invited to the republic day parade from the year 1950 till now.

Here is a list of chief guest on republic day parade till now (1950 – 2022)

1950- President Sukarno (Indonesia)

1951- King Tribhuvan Bir Bikram Shah (Nepal)

1952– No invitation

1953- No invitation

1954- King Jigme Dorji Wangchuck (Bhutan)

1955- Governor-General Malik Ghulam Muhammad (Pakistan)

1956- Chancellor of the Exchequer R. A. Butler (United Kingdom) and Chief Justice Kotaro Tanaka (Japan)

1957- Minister of Defence Georgy Zhukov (Soviet Union)

1958- Marshall Ye Jianying (China)

1959- Duke of Edinburgh Prince Philip (United Kingdom)

1960- President Kliment Voroshilov (USSR)

1961- Queen Elizabeth II (United Kingdom)

1962- Prime Minister Viggo Kampmann (Denmark)

1963- King Norodom Sihanouk (Cambodia)

1964- Chief of Defence Staff Lord Louis Mountbatten (United Kingdom)

1965- Food and Agriculture Minister Rana Abdul Hamid (Pakistan)

1966- No invitation

Do read: Where and how to buy Republic Day parade tickets

1967- King Mohammed Zahir Shah (Afghanistan)

1968- Prime Minister Alexei Kosygin (USSR) and President Josip Broz Tito (SFR Yugoslavia)

1969- Prime Minister of Bulgaria Todor Zhivkov (Bulgaria)

1970- King of the Belgians Baudouin (Belgium)

1971- President Julius Nyerere (Tanzania)

1972- Prime Minister Seewoosagur Ramgoolam (Mauritius)

1973- President Mobutu Sese Seko (Zaire)

1974- President Josip Broz Tito (SFR Yugoslavia) and Prime Minister Sirimavo Ratwatte Dias Bandaranaike (Sri Lanka)

1975- President Kenneth Kaunda (Zambia)

1976- Prime Minister Jacques Chirac (France)

1977- First Secretary Edward Gierek (Poland)

1978- President Patrick Hillery (Ireland)

1979- Prime Minister Malcolm Fraser (Australia)

1980- President Valéry Giscard d’Estaing (France)

1981- President José López Portillo (Mexico)

Do Read: Interesting facts about India Gate

List of chief guest on republic day parade till now

1982- King Juan Carlos I (Spain)

1983- President Shehu Shagari (Nigeria)

1984- King Jigme Singye Wangchuck (Bhutan)

1985- President Raúl Alfonsín (Argentina)

1986- Prime Minister Andreas Papandreou (Greece)

1987- President Alan García (Peru)

1988- President Junius Jayewardene (Sri Lanka)

1989- General Secretary Nguyen Van Linh (Vietnam)

1990- Prime Minister Anerood Jugnauth (Mauritius)

1991- President Maumoon Abdul Gayoom (Maldives)

1992- President Mário Soares (Portugal)

1993- Prime Minister John Major (United Kingdom)

1994- Prime Minister Goh Chok Tong (Singapore)

1995- President Nelson Mandela (South Africa)

1996- President Dr. Fernando Henrique Cardoso (Brazil)

1997- Prime Minister Basdeo Panday (Trinidad and Tobago)

1998- President Jacques Chirac (France)

1999- King Birendra Bir Bikram Shah Dev (Nepal)

2000- President Olusegun Obasanjo (Nigeria)

2001- President Abdelaziz Bouteflika (Algeria)

2002- President Cassam Uteem (Mauritius)

2003- President Mohammed Khatami (Iran)

2004- President Luiz Inacio Lula da Silva (Brazil)

2005- King Jigme Singye Wangchuck (Bhutan)

2006- King Abdullah bin Abdulaziz al-Saud (Saudi Arabia)

2007- President Vladimir Putin (Russia)

Do Read:Know everything about the Republic Day parade 

2008- President Nicolas Sarkozy (France)

2009- President Nursultan Nazarbayev (Kazakhstan)

2010- President Lee Myung Bak (Republic of Korea)

2011- President Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono (Indonesia)

2012- Prime Minister Yingluck Shinawatra (Thailand)

2013- King of Bhutan Jigme Khesar Namgyel Wangchuck (Bhutan)

2014- Prime Minister Shinzo Abe (Japan)

2015- President Barack Obama (United States)

2016- President François Hollande (France)

2017- Crown Prince Sheikh Mohammed bin Zayed (United Arab Emirates)

2018- Rodrigo Roa Duterte (Philippines)

2019- President Cyril Ramaphosa (South Africa)

2020- President Jair Bolsonaro (Brazil)

2021- No Guest

2022- No Guest

Must Read: Facts you should know about Republic Day

tentaran google news

For more articles like, “List of chief guest on republic day parade till now”, do follow us on FacebookTwitter, and  Instagram.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The content and images used on this site are copyright protected and copyrights vests with their respective owners. We make every effort to link back to original content whenever possible. If you own rights to any of the images, and do not wish them to appear here, please contact us and they will be promptly removed. Usage of content and images on this website is intended to promote our works and no endorsement of the artist shall be implied. Read more detailed ​​disclaimer
Copyright © 2022 All rights reserved.
× How can I help you?