List of all the Presidents of India till date – Tentaran

Please follow and like us:

The president of India is the highest constitutional post in the country. The President of India is the first citizen of India as also the commander-in-chief all the three Indian Armed Forces; the Army, Navy and the Indian Air Force. Till date, there have been 14 Presidents of India with three Acting Presidents. We bring you a complete list of Presidents of India till date.
List of Presidents of India till date

List of Presidents of India till date

Ram Nath Kovind (14th President of India)Ram Nath Kovind

  • Incumbent President (2017-  )
  • He is the fourteenth President of the country, who took his presidential responsibilities on July 25th, 2017.
  • Before taking over the responsibilities as the president he was the 35th Governor of Bihar.
  • He also practised as a lawyer at the Delhi high court until 1993.

Must Read: The Life of  Indian PM Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee

Pranab Mukherjee (13th President of India)Pranab Mukherjee

  • The term of Presidency: July 25, 2012, to July 25, 2017
  • He was the finance minister of India (from 2009 to 2012) before he took over as the President.
  • He held various positions in the Cabinet Ministry including being the Foreign Minister, Finance Minister, Defence Minister and Deputy Chairman of the Planning Commission.

Dr Pratibha Patil (12th President of India)Pratibha Patil

  • The term of Presidency: July 25, 2007, to July 25, 2012
  • Madam Patil was the first and only Lady President, India has had till date.
  • Apart from being the first Lady President, she was also the first Lady Governor of Rajasthan.

Must Read: Know Your President: Must know facts about Ram Nath Kovind

Dr Avul Pakir Jainulabdeen Abdul Kalam (11th President of India)Avul Pakir Jainulabdeen Abdul Kalam

  • The term of Presidency: July 25th, 2002 to July 25th, 2007.
  • APJ Abdul Kalam was a Bharat Ratna awardee and a highly dignified president, who connected well with the Indian youth.
  • He was also known as the ‘Missile Man’ for his commendable contribution to the nuclear missile program of India.
  • He also served as the Chief Scientific Advisor of Prime Minister of India before taking over his responsibilities as the President.

Dr Kocheril Raman Narayanan (10th President of India)Kocheril Raman Narayanan

  • The term of Presidency: July 25th, 1997 to July 25th, 2002.
  • He was also known as the “the best diplomat of the country”.
  • He was the first Dalit President of the country and was India’s ambassador to many countries like Japan, USA, China, etc.

Must Read: Interesting facts about Narendra Modi

Dr Shankar Dayal Sharma (9th President of India) Shankar Dayal Sharma

  • The term of Presidency: July 25th, 1992 to July 25th, 1997
  • Before taking over his presidential responsibility, he also served as the Chief Minister of Bhopal (from 1952 to 1956).
  • He has also served as the Vice President of India.

Ramaswamy Venkataraman (8th President of India)Ramaswamy Venkataraman

  • The term of Presidency: July 25th, 1987 to July 25th, 1992
  • He was a freedom fighter who was elected as the member of Lok Sabha four times.
  • He has also been the Finance Minister and Defence Minister of the country before being elected as the President of India.

Giani Zail Singh (7th President of India)Giani Zail Singh

  • The term of Presidency: July 25th, 1982 to July 25th, 1987
  • An eminent Politician, he had also served as Chief Minister of Punjab and the Union Home Minister before being elected as the President.
  • Assignation of Indira Gandhi, Prime Minister of India and anti- Sikh riots (1984) took place during his tenure.

Neelam Sanjiva Reddy (6th President of India)Neelam Sanjiva Reddy

  • The term of Presidency: July 25th, 1977 to July 25th, 1982
  • He served as the Union Minister of India and was the first Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh. 
  • He has also been a prominent freedom fighter of the country.

Must Read:  Aruna Roy: A Political and Social activist

Basappa Danappa Jatti (Acting President)Basappa Danappa Jatti

  • He was an Acting president from February 11, 1977, to July 25, 1977.
  • He took the Presidential responsibilities after Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed (then President) died in office.

Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed (5th President of India)Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed

  • The term of Presidency: August 24th, 1974 to February 11th, 1977
  • He died during his term as the President. He was also the President during ‘Emergency’ in India.
  • Served as a Minister before being elected as the President.

 Varahagiri Venkata Giri (4th President of India)

 Varahagiri Venkata Giri

  • The term of Presidency: August 24th, 1969 to August 24th, 1974
  • V V Giri also served as the Governor of three states of India, Uttar Pradesh, Kerala and Karnataka.
  • He was also the Vice President of India during the presidentship of Dr Zakir Husain.

Mohammad Hidayatullah (Acting President)

Muhammad Hidayatullah

  • He was the Acting President of India from July 20th, 1969 to August 24th, 1969.
  • Prior to taking over the office, he was the Chief Justice of India and also a recipient of the Order of the British Empire.

 Sh Varahagiri Venkata Giri (Acting President) Varahagiri Venkata Giri

  • He served as an Acting President from May 3rd, 1969 to July 20th, 1969.
  • Took the presidential responsibilities after the sudden demise of President Zakir Husain.
  • Resigned from the post to contest in the presidential elections.

 Dr Zakir Husain (3rd President of India)Zakir Hussain

  • The term of Presidency: May 13th, 1967 to May 3rd, 1969.
  • A Bharat Ratna recipient in 1963, he was the first Muslim President of the country.
  • He was also the Vice Chancellor of the Aligarh Muslim University and co-founder of Jamia Millia Islamia University, Delhi.

Dr Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan (2nd President of India)Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan

  • The term of Presidency: May 13th, 1962 to May 13th, 1967
  • He was a scholar, philosopher, author and a great teacher.
  • He has been a recipient of many honorary awards like the Bharat Ratna award in 1954 and was knighted in 1931.

Dr Rajendra Prasad (1st President of India)

Rajendra Prasad

  • The term of Presidency:  January 26th, 1950 to May 13th, 1962
  • He was the first elected President of India.
  • He has also been a prominent freedom fighter and was the only president to have been elected as the President of India for two consecutive terms.

Must Read:Some interesting facts about the Rashtrapati Bhawan

For more stories like the list of Presidents of India till date, do follow us on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram. For watching our collection of videos, follow us on YouTube.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The content and images used on this site are copyright protected and copyrights vests with their respective owners. We make every effort to link back to original content whenever possible. If you own rights to any of the images, and do not wish them to appear here, please contact us and they will be promptly removed. Usage of content and images on this website is intended to promote our works and no endorsement of the artist shall be implied. Read more detailed ​​disclaimer
Copyright © 2022 All rights reserved.
× How can I help you?