Naveen Patnaik Takes Oath as Odisha Chief Minister for the Fifth time

Please follow and like us:

Naveen Patnaik takes oath as Odisha CM – Naveen Patnaik, 72, took oath as the Chief Minister of Odisha for the fifth time after the victory in the state elections. He is currently the 14th Chief Minister of Odisha.

Naveen Patnaik takes oath as Odisha CM

He is also a writer and President of the Biju Janata Dal. He is the only third Indian Chief Minister after Pawan Kumar Chamling and Jyoti Basu to win five consecutive terms as Chief Minister of an Indian state.

In 2019, BJD won 112 out of the 147 assembly seats in Odisha, just five less compared to the 2014 election, which was 117. Patnaik is the longest-serving Chief Minister of the coastal state.

Must read: Interesting facts about Smriti Irani: Biography, Career and Achievements

Biju Janata Dal chief, Mr. Patnaik and his team of ministers took oath from the Governor Ganeshi Lal at an event held in Bhubaneswar on 29th May 2019. The oath ceremony was held in full public view outside the Raj Bhavan, which was till the last time being held indoors.

Prem Patnaik, the elder brother, and Gita Mehta, sister of the CM attended the oath ceremony. Over 7,000 dignitaries including CEOs and Heads of various industrial houses also attended the swearing-in ceremony.

Naveen Patnaik takes oath as Odisha CM

After taking the oath, the Odisha Chief Minister took to Twitter to share his emotions and how nostalgic he was feeling remembering the 19 years of his journey in the office.

Naveen Patnaik takes oath as Odisha CM

On Mr. Patnaik’s recommendation, 11 cabinet ministers and nine ministers of state were also appointed. You can see 10 new faces in the new team of cabinet ministers. Before taking the oath, Mr. Patnaik visited the Shree Jagannath temple in Puri to seek God’s blessings.

Also read: Interesting facts to know about BJP’s President, Amit Shah

Naveen Patnaik had also invited Prime Minister Narendra Modi for today’s swearing-in ceremony. Though PM Modi could not attend the ceremony, he congratulated him after the oath ceremony.

Several Biju Janata Dal lawmakers said that they got phone calls from Naveen Niwas, the residence of Mr. Patnaik, informing them that they would be sworn-in as ministers.

Many political leaders tweeted him and congratulated him for becoming the CM of Odisha for the fifth time.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi will be taking oath as the Prime Minister of India for the second time on 30th May 2019 in New Delhi.

For more articles like, ‘Naveen Patnaik takes oath as Odisha CM’, do follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The content and images used on this site are copyright protected and copyrights vests with their respective owners. We make every effort to link back to original content whenever possible. If you own rights to any of the images, and do not wish them to appear here, please contact us and they will be promptly removed. Usage of content and images on this website is intended to promote our works and no endorsement of the artist shall be implied. Read more detailed ​​disclaimer
Copyright © 2019 All rights reserved.
× How can I help you?