Nidahas Trophy: India V. Sri Lanka First T20

Please follow and like us:

Nidahas Trophy


After their successful tour of South Africa, India now take on Bangladesh and Sri Lanka in the shorter formats of the game. The tri-series featuring the three Asian countries will be played as part of the Nidahas Trophy with the first match of the series being played today. India and Sri Lanka face off against each other in the first T20 of the series starting 7pm IST in Colombo.


With many faces rested for the upcoming series, India’s young guns and upcoming talent will be at show. The Rohit Sharma lead side will be looking to prove a point and showcase their talents to the selectors in their quest to book a place in the Indian team before the World Cup.  A number of senior team members like Virat Kohli, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Bhuvaneshwar Kumar, Hardik Pandya and Jasprit Bumrah have been rested for the tour. Wicketkeeper-batsman Rishabh Pant and paceman Mohammed Siraj, 23 have been called up to the national team on the back of strong domestic performances.


“Whether we are favourites or not, that is not something I think about, said Rohit who will be leading the team in Virat Kohli’s absence.”T20 is such a format where any team can win on that particular day. The game can change in a span of one over, it can slip away on a given day, any team can beat anyone… Some teams may be stronger, but anyone can win on a given day.


The match can be watched live in both English and Hindi on the Star Sports network from 7pm with the toss taking place at 6:46pm. The match can also be streamed online at Hotstar.


India Squad: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shikhar Dhawan (vice-captain), KL Rahul, Suresh Raina, Manish Pandey, Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), Deepak Hooda, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Vijay Shankar, Shardul Thakur, Jaydev Unadkat, Mohammad Siraj and Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper).

Sri Lanka Squad: Dinesh Chandimal (Captain), Suranga Lakmal (vice-captain), Upul Tharanga, Danushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Mendis, Dasun Shanaka, Kusal Janith Perera, Thisara Perera, Jeevan Mendis, Isuru Udana, Akila Dananjaya, Amila Aponso, Nuwan Pradeep, Dushmantha Chameera, Dhananjaya De Silva.

For more updates, do Subscribe to our newsletter and follow us on FacebookTwitter and Google+

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The content and images used on this site are copyright protected and copyrights vests with their respective owners. We make every effort to link back to original content whenever possible. If you own rights to any of the images, and do not wish them to appear here, please contact us and they will be promptly removed. Usage of content and images on this website is intended to promote our works and no endorsement of the artist shall be implied. Read more detailed ​​disclaimer
Copyright © 2022 All rights reserved.
× How can I help you?