Padma Awards 2018 Winners : MS Dhoni awarded Padma Bhushan

Please follow and like us:

Padma Bhushan


The Padma awards were presented at the Rashtrapati Bhawan by president Ram Nath Kovind among some of the country’s biggest dignitaries. The grand ceremony saw people from different fields being awarded for their immense contribution to their respective fields.


 Mahendra Singh Dhoni and Pankaj Advani received the Padma Bhushan with Kidambi Srikanth, Somdev Devvarman, and India’s first Paralympic gold medallist, Murlikant Petkar being conferred with the Padma Shri which is the fourth highest civilian honour in the country. Much to the delight of the crores of cricket lovers across the country, Dhoni received the award in his full attire of Lt.Colonel on the same day on which India had won the World Cup 7 years ago. He became only the second cricketer after Kapil Dev to be bestowed with the honour and added to his already growing list of awards which include the ICC ODI Player of the Year, the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna and the Padma Shri. Another fitting recipient from the world of sports was Advani, 2018 TOISA Snooker/Billiards Player of the Year who is a multiple world champion.


Padma Bhushan


People from disciplines of art, social work, public affairs, science and engineering, trade and industry, medicine etc. were also conferred with awards.



Senior RSS ideologue P Parameswaran, music composer Illaiyaraja and Ghulam Mustafa Khan received the country’s highest honour.
“The Padma Vibhushan award conferred upon me is an indication of PM Modi-led government’s respect to Tamil people and Tamil Nadu,” Illaiyaraja said.



Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Pankaj Advani, Philipose Mar Chrysostom, Alexander Kadakia, Ramachandram Nagaswamy, Laxman Pai,Ved Prakash Nanda, Arvind Parikh, and Sharda Sinha.



Arvind Gupta, Lakshmikutty, Bhajju Shyam, MR Rajagopal Rani and Abhay Bang, Lentina Ao Thakkar,  Sampat Ramteke and Sanduk Ruit.This year the list of Padma Shri awardees also included one recipient from each ASEAN country to mark 70 years of the India-ASEAN partnership which included:


Dr Thant Myint-U of Myanmar ,Malai Haji Abdullah Bin MalaiHaji Othman of Brunei Darussalam (Medicine), Hun Many of Cambodia (Public Affairs), I NyomanNuarta of Indonesia (Art), BounlapKeokangna of Laos (Art) and DatukRamli Bin Ibraham of Malaysia (Art).

Recommended reading: IPL team Captains and Coaches

For more updates, do Subscribe to our newsletter and follow us on FacebookTwitter and Google+

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The content and images used on this site are copyright protected and copyrights vests with their respective owners. We make every effort to link back to original content whenever possible. If you own rights to any of the images, and do not wish them to appear here, please contact us and they will be promptly removed. Usage of content and images on this website is intended to promote our works and no endorsement of the artist shall be implied. Read more detailed ​​disclaimer
Copyright © 2022 All rights reserved.
× How can I help you?