Premier Badminton League teams 2018-19

The Premier Badminton League is back for its fourth edition and with it is back the fierce rivalry that has seen the tournament become a showpiece event of badminton internationally. Bringing superstars from all under the globe under one roof, the nine Premier Badminton League teams will see the sides compete in a total of 30 matches for a shot at the Rs 6 crore, mega prize money, the highest on offer till date that makes the tournament a bigger affair than ever. With the tournament set to explode the badminton circle, we bring to you the Premier Badminton League teams, their complete squads and everything you need to know about the premier event.

Premier Badminton League Teams

The auctions of PBL 4 held earlier this month saw teams being handed out at Rs 80 lakh budget for their icon players which included PV Sindhu, Kidambi Srikanth, Sung Ji Hyun and Lee Yong Dae. The auction was a fierce event as teams went at loggerheads, engaging in determined bidding to buy the best stakes on the market in a bid to put their best foot forward for the title.

Must Read: Premier Badminton League Auctions: Nehwal, Sindhu Sold For 80L

A total of 90 players will be playing in the tournament with each side having a squad of 10 players that see a mix of international and national star shuttlers, specialists in the men’s and women’s singles and men’s and women’s doubles categories.

Premier Badminton League Teams

The league which is owned by BAI and is organized by Sportzlive sees the introduction of a new team in Pune 7 Aces for the 2018-19 edition to make it a nine-team affair. The nine teams competing at PBL 2018-19 are Ahmedabad Smash Masters, Awadhe Warriors, Bengaluru Raptors, Chennai Smashers, Delhi Dashers, Hyderabad Hunters, Mumbai Rockets, North Eastern Warriors and Pune 7 Aces.

PBL Facts:

Teams: Ahmedabad Smash Masters, Awadhe Warriors, Bengaluru Raptors, Chennai Smashers, Delhi Dashers, Hyderabad Hunters, Mumbai Rockets, North Eastern Warriors and Pune 7 Aces.

Venues: Mumbai, Pune, Hyderabad, Ahmedabad and Bengaluru

Dates: December 22nd 2018-January 13th 2019

Format: Best of 3 Games with 15 point a Game

Total No of Ties: 30; | Number of matches in each Tie: 5

Prize money: Rs 6 cr-Winner- Rs 3cr, Runner up- Rs 1.5cr,3rd and 4th place finish-Rs 75 lakhs each

Premier Badminton League Teams

Premier Badminton League Teams

Delhi Dashers: HS Prannoy, Tommy Sugiarto (Indonesia), Chai Biao (China), Wang Sijie (China), Maneepong Jongjit (Thailand), Harika V, Evgeniya Kosetskaya (Russia), Vignesh Devlekar, Chirag Sen, Lee Chia Hsin (Chinese Taipei)

Ahmedabad Smash Masters: Viktor Axelsen (Denmark), Anoushka Parikh, Sikki Reddy, Satwiksairaj Rankireddy, Lee Chun Hei (Hong Kong), Kidambi Nandagopal, Kirsty Gilmour (Scotland), Vaishnavi Bhale, Darren Liew (Malaysia), Sourabh Verma

Awadhe Warriors: Son Wan Ho (South Korea), Ashwini Ponnappa, Mathias Christiansen (Denmark), Lee Yang (Chinese Taipei), Beiwen Zhang (USA), Lee Dong Keun (South Korea), Sanyogita Ghorpade, Gurusaidutt, Rasika Raje, MR Arjun

Bengaluru Raptors: Kidambi Srikanth, Mohd Ahsan (Indonesia), Hendra Setiawan (Indonesia), Sai Praneeth, Mithun Manjunath, Lauren Smith (England), Sanjana Santosh, Marcus Ellis (England), Vu Thi Trang (Vietnam), Nygun Tien Minh (Vietnam)

Premier Badminton League Teams

Chennai Smashers: Sung Ji Hyun (South Korea), Gabby Adcock (England), Rutaparna Panda, Chris Adcock (England), Sumeeth Reddy, Saili Rane, Rajiv Ouseph (England), Parupalli Kashyap, Or Chin Chung (Hong Kong), Chong Wei Feng (Malaysia)

Hyderabad Hunters: PV Sindhu, Eom Hye Won (South Korea), Kim Sa Rang (South Korea), Bodin Issara (Thailand), Sai Uttejitha Rao, Lee Hyun Il (South Korea), Arun George, Meghna J, Mark Caljouw (Netherlands), Rahul Yadav

Mumbai Rockets: Lee Yong Dae (South Korea), Pia Zebadiah (Indonesia), Kim Gi Jung (South Korea), Sameer Verma, Shriyanshi Pardeshi, Anders Antonsen (Denmark), Kuhoo Garg, Manu Attri, Pratul Joshi, Anura Prabhudesai

North Eastern Warriors: Saina Nehwal, Kim Ha Na (South Korea), Yoo Yeon Seong (South Korea), Tanongsak Saensomboonsuk (Thailand), Tian Houwei (China), K Maneesha, Liao Min Chun (Chinese Taipei), Dhruv Kapila, Siril Verma, Rituparna Das

Pune 7 Aces: Carolina Marin (Spain), Chirag Shetty, Mathias Boe (Denmark), Vladimir Ivanov (Russia), Line Kjaersfeldt (Denmark), Lakshya Sen, Brice Leverdez (France), Sony Dwi Kuncoro (Indonesia), Ajay Jayaram, Prajakta Sawant

Total Player in League: 90

Total Nations Represented: 17

Total Indian Players: 45

Top 10 Players: 8

Top 20 Players: 20

Highest Paid Foreign Non-Icon male Player: Tommy Sugiarto (Delhi Dashers)

Highest Paid Foreign Non-Icon Female Player: Kim Ha Na (North Eastern Warrior)

Highest Paid Indian Non-Icon Player: Satwiksairaj Rankireddy (Ahmedabad Smash Masters)

For more updates, do Subscribe to our newsletter and follow us on FacebookTwitter and Google+.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The content and images used on this site are copyright protected and copyrights vests with their respective owners. We make every effort to link back to original content whenever possible. If you own rights to any of the images, and do not wish them to appear here, please contact us and they will be promptly removed. Usage of content and images on this website is intended to promote our works and no endorsement of the artist shall be implied. Read more detailed ​​disclaimer
Copyright © 2019 All rights reserved.