Purple Cap in IPL 2021 Latest Update : Know who is purple cap holder in IPL 2021 and highest wicket takers

Please follow and like us:

Purple Cap in IPL 2021 Latest Update – Purple cap is a dream for every bowler in the IPL. The bowler, the highest wicket-taker after each franchise, has played the opening game of the season, becoming the first player to receive the IPL Purple Cap.  As the tournament progresses, the competition for prizes becomes more intense.  Eventually, the bowler with the maximum wicket receives the Purple Cap award at the closing ceremony. purple cap in ipl 2021 latest update

So far, only three bowlers have won the Purple Cap and lifted the IPL Trophy in a single season.  Sohail Tanvir and RP Singh did so in the first two seasons, while Bhuvneshwar Kumar achieved the feat in 2016. Last year, Kagiso Rabada took the most wickets, but his team finished second.

Purple Cap in IPL 2021 Latest Update purple cap in ipl 2021 today

Here are the top five contenders for the coveted Purple Cap in IPL 2021.

Rashid Khan

Rashid Khan has achieved incredible success in the shortest format of the game. Afghan leg-spinner tops the ICC T20I rankings for bowlers.  Even in the IPL, Khan has been the most successful player in his country. The leg-spin bowler has represented Sunrisers Hyderabad since 2017. In 62 matches for the Orange Army, Khan has taken 75 wickets at an economy rate of 6.25.  In IPL 2020, Rashid gave runs at an economy rate of just 5.38 runs per over.  Rashid Khan has a tendency to disappoint batsmen with dot balls before they finally gift their wickets.  Khan took 20 wickets out of 16 last year.  Due to his continuation in T20 cricket, he would start as one of the Purple Cap-winning favorites in 2021.

Must Read: IPL Points Table 2021 List

Prange Cap in IPL 2021 Latest Update – purple cap in ipl 2021 update – purple cap

Pat Cummins

Before the IPL auction 2021, Pat Cummins was the most expensive overseas signing in IPL history.  Kolkata Knight Riders made a grand total of Rs.15.5 crores in the IPL auction 2020.  Unfortunately, Cummins could not justify his price tag in the UAE last year.  He played all 14 league matches, taking 12 wickets at an average of 34.08.  Given how talented Cummins is, fans are supporting him to perform better in IPL 2021. Cummins has a bowling strike rate of 17.84 in T20 internationals.  If he can take wickets with such consistency in IPL 2021, the Australian team player Cummins will likely take home the Purple Cap.

Must Read: IPL 2021 complete fixtures list, full schedule, teams, venue, timing, time table, pdf

Purple Cap in IPL 2021 Latest Update – purple cap in ipl 2021 update

Yuzvendra Chahal

In the last 13 seasons, only one leg spinner has won the IPL Purple Cap.  Imran Tahir of South Africa received the award for taking 27 wickets in IPL 2019.  Interestingly, in the last 13 years, only one Indian spin bowler has taken the Purple Cap into his home.  Pragyan Ojha is the only Indian spinner in the list of IPL Purple Cap winners.  Ojha took 21 wickets in 16 matches for the Deccan Chargers during the 2010 season.  Among the current Indian spinners, Yuzvendra Chahal is the top contender to end IPL 2021 with the most wickets.  He finished fifth on the IPL 2020 bowlers’ leaderboard.  If he maintains his consistency, Chahal could become the first Royal Challengers Bangalore player to win the Purple Cap.

Purple Cap in IPL 2021 Latest Update

Trent Bolt 

Trent Bolt had its best IPL season in the United Arab Emirates last year.  Bolt joined the Mumbai Indians during the trade window, where he showed a solid partnership with Jaspreet Bumrah in the Pace Attack.  The Kiwi Speedster finished third in the Purple Cap race last year.  He played two games less than Purple Cap recipient Kagiso Rabada.  Nevertheless, Bolt took 25 wickets at a strike rate of 13.76. This season, Bolt is expected to achieve a similar number once again, making him a strong contender to win the Purple Cap.

Purple Cap in IPL 2021 Latest Update – orange cap in ipl 2021 update

Jasprit Bumrah 

Jasprit Bumrah will be renewed in IPL 2021, that’s why he will be the top player in the Purple Cap race. Last year’s winner Kagiso Rabada is not in this list, as he may miss a few matches in IPL 2021. Therefore, last season’s runner-up Jasprit Bumrah will enter IPL 2021 as the most favorite to win the Purple Cap.  Jasprit missed the award last year.  The Mumbai Indians star took 27 wickets in 15 matches.  His bowling average was better than Rabada, while his strike rate was marginally lower.  Bumrah had his most successful IPL season in 2020.  If he can do so in 2021, no one can stop him from forfeiting his first Purple Cap trophy.

IPL 2021 Most Wicket Takers list as of 3 May 2021 after Match 29 (DC vs PKBS) (purple cap older in ipl 2021)

Player M Wkts
Harshal Patel(RCB) 7 17
Avesh Khan(DC) 8 14
Chris Morris(RR) 7 14
Rahul Chahar(MI) 7 11
Rashid Khan(SRH) 7 10

Must Read: Orange Cap in IPL 2021 Latest Update

IPL today orange cap and purple cap

Must Read: Who Do You Think Will Win IPL 2021 – Do Vote

To keep yourself abreast with stories like Purple Cap in IPL 2021 Latest Update, do follow us on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram. For watching our collection of videos, follow us on YouTube.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The content and images used on this site are copyright protected and copyrights vests with their respective owners. We make every effort to link back to original content whenever possible. If you own rights to any of the images, and do not wish them to appear here, please contact us and they will be promptly removed. Usage of content and images on this website is intended to promote our works and no endorsement of the artist shall be implied. Read more detailed ​​disclaimer
Copyright © 2019 Tentaran.com. All rights reserved.
× How can I help you?