Cricketers nominated for Arjuna Award and Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award 2020

Please follow and like us:

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna and Arjuna award nominees 2020 list – The BCCI–Board of Cricket Control in India, has nominated Indian men and women cricket players for the prestigious Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award and Arjuna Awards 2020. India’s terrific opening batsman, Hit Man Rohit Sharma has been nominated for the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award. Hit Man’s opening partner, Gabbar Shikhar Dhawan, India’s speedster Ishant Sharma and Women’s cricket player Deepti Sharma have been nominated for the Arjuna Awards 2020. These prestigious awards are given by the Government of India’s Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports.

rajiv gandhi khel ratna and arjuna award nominees 2020 list

Team India’s vice-captain, Rohit Sharma has been the man in form in the limited-overs format. He was the highest run-getter for India during this time. Hit Man was named the ICC ODI Cricketer of the year 2019 and became the first-ever opening batsman to score 5 centuries in a single world cup edition. With that, Hit Man also scored 4 T20 International tons. As an opener in test matches, Rohit also smashed two centuries in his maiden Test innings.

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna and Arjuna award nominees 2020 list

Shikhar Dhawan, the Arjuna Award nominee, scored the fastest test hundred in his debut match against Australia at Mohali. He is the only batsman to win two golden bats in the ICC Champions Trophy tournament. Apart from that, Gabbar is also the quickest batsman to score 2,000 and 3,000 runs in ODI Cricket and second-fastest batsman to score 4,000 and 5,000 runs in the 50 over format.

Ishant Sharma has also been nominated for the Arjuna Award. Ishant is the youngest Indian bowler to play in all three formats for India. He has been India’s leading fast bowler and also holds the record of picking up the most wickets outside the sub-continent.

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna and Arjuna award nominees 2020 list

Deepti Sharma has been a top-class spin bowling all-rounder from the Indian Women’s Team. She too has been nominated for the Arjuna Award. Deepti has the highest individual score in the Women One Day International match. She is also the only Indian spin bowler to pick up a 6 wicket haul in the Women’s 50 over format.

Must Read: Unbroken Records of King Kohli in International Cricket

Sourav Ganguly, The BCCI President said that they went through a lot of data and considered players on various parameters before shortlisting the nominees. Rohit Sharma has set high standards and has achieved what was never thought of in the shorter formats of the game. Rohit has been nominated for the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award for his consistency, conduct, and leadership skills. Ishant Sharma has been the senior-most member of India’s test side and his contribution has been immense in the long run of the Indian team. Ishant has fought back well through injuries and niggles. He has given his 100 percent every time he stepped on to the cricket field. Shikhar Dhawan has been a consistent top-order player for India and his contribution to the ICC tournaments has been significant. While Deepti Sharma has been a vital all-rounder for the Women’s team.

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna and Arjuna award nominees 2020 list

Jay Shah, The Honorary Secretary of the BCCI said that there is nothing like representing your country and getting national awards that are given for your hard work. Rohit Sharma has raised his performance in the last five years and has led India to many famous wins whenever Kohli has been absent. Rohit has won Asia Cup in UAE, The Nidashas Trophy in Sri Lanka, and has registered many series wins for India at home in the shorter formats. Ishant and Shikhar are the warhorses of the team who lift the morale of the team by their fearless approach. Deepti has contributed to the team consistently and has shown her skills in the big ticketed events too.

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna and Arjuna award nominees 2020 list

Must Read: Arjuna award winner list in Hindi

Arun Singh Dhumal, The Honorary Treasurer of BCCI said that it is an honour to receive a national award. These awards are proof of their hard work and dedication on the field. While a competitive spirit is shown by the Indian Cricketers on the ground, off the field too their kind characters have come out. Players came forward to donate money, food grains to the relief funds and charities during the coronavirus pandemic. Virat Kohli was the last Indian cricketer to win the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award and now, Rohit Sharma is nominated. Shikhar Dhawan and Ishant Sharma have been performing well and jDeepti Sharma has been a perfect all-rounder for the Women’s team.

Must Read: Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award winners list in Hindi 

For more articles like, “Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna and Arjuna award nominees 2020 list”, do follow us on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The content and images used on this site are copyright protected and copyrights vests with their respective owners. We make every effort to link back to original content whenever possible. If you own rights to any of the images, and do not wish them to appear here, please contact us and they will be promptly removed. Usage of content and images on this website is intended to promote our works and no endorsement of the artist shall be implied. Read more detailed ​​disclaimer
Copyright © 2019 All rights reserved.
× How can I help you?