The Vice-Presidents of India till date

Please follow and like us:

Do you know about all the Vice-Presidents of India?

the Vice-Presidents of India

While we tend to know about the presidents of India, the vice-presidents are often missed out. A vice-president plays an important role and great support to the President in Chair. The Vice-President is the second topmost constitutional post after President.

Must Read:  10th BRICS Summit 2018 Modi Meets Xi, Putin and Ramaphosa

Here is a list of all the Vice-Presidents of India till date (as of 2018):

  1. Venkaiah Naidu

श्री वेंकैया नायडू

  • Incumbent Vice-President (11 August 2017-)
  • Bhartiya Janta Party
  • Before taking the responsibility of Vice-President, he worked as the Minister of Housing and Urban Poverty Alleviation in the Modi cabinet.
  • He was the National President of Bhartiya Janta Party from 2002-2004.

2 – Mohammad Hamid Ansari

हामिद अंसारी

  • 11 August 2007-11 August 2017
  • Indian National Congress
  • He served as a Vice-President for 10 years in a row.
  • He is the longest-serving Vice-President after Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan.
  • He has also become the first Vice-President who worked under three presidents.

3 – Bhairon Singh Shekhawat

भैरोंसिंह शेखावत

  • 19 August 2002-21 July 2007
  • Bhartiya Janta Party
  • He became the 11th Vice-President of India.
  • In July 2007, he resigned from his post after losing the Presidential election to Pratibha Patil.

4 – Krishan Kant


  • 21 August 1997-27 July 2002
  • Janata Dal
  • He served as the 10th Vice-President of India.
  • Before serving as Vice-President he was the governor of Andhra Pradesh for seven years.

5 – K.R Narayan

के आर नारायणन

  • 21 August 1992-24 July 1997
  • Indian National Congress
  • He was elected as 9th Vice-President of India by the then former Prime Minister V.P Singh.
  • He became the first Dalit to be honoured with the Presidential post.

6 – Shankar Dayal Sharma

 Shankar Dayal Sharma

  • 3 September 1987-24 July 1992
  • Indian National Congress
  • He was elected as 8th Vice-President of India under the Presidency of Ramaswamy Venkataraman.
  • After serving his position, he was appointed as the President of India in 1992.
  • Before this, he served as the Chief Minister of Bhopal for four years.

7 – Ramaswamy Venkataraman

ramaswamy venkataraman

  • 31 August 1984-24 July 1987
  • Indian National Congress
  • He was the 7th Vice-President of India who served for only 3 years as he was elected as the eighth Indian President in the year 1987.
  • He was a Lawyer and a Union Minister.

8 – Mohammad Hidayatullah

मुहम्मद हिदायतुल्लाह

  • 31 August 1979-30 August 1984
  • 6th Vice-President of India
  • Independent
  • From 25 February 1968 to 16 December 1970, he served as the 11th Chief Justice of India.
  • He became the Acting President of India two times (20 July 1969-24 August 1969 and 6 October 1982-31 October 1982)

9 – Basappa Danappa Jatti

Basappa Danappa Jatti

  • 31 August 1974-30 August 1979
  • Indian National Congress
  • He was the fifth Indian Vice-President of India.
  • He began his career as a member of the Municipality.
  • He also served as an Acting President of India from 11 February 1977 to 25 July 1977.

10 – Gopal Swarup Pathak

गोपाल स्वरूप पाठक

  • 31 August 1969-30 August 1974
  • Independent
  • He was the 4th Vice-President and the only one who did not serve as the President of India.
  • He also served as the Chancellor of Mysore University, Karnataka University and Bangalore University.

11 – Varahagiri Venkata Giri

 Varahagiri Venkata Giri

  • 13 May 1967-3 May 1969
  • He was the 3rd Vice-President of India.
  • He served for two years as he was elevated as the Acting President after the demise of then President Zakir Husain.
  • He fought for the rights of labour force and improvised their condition.

12 – Zakir Husain

ज़ाकिर हुसैन

  • 13 May 1962-12 May 1967
  • Independent
  • He was the only Muslim who achieved the power to serve as a Vice-President.
  • He established National Muslim University in Aligarh.

13 – Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan

sarvepalli radhakrishnan

  • 13 May 1952-12 May 1962
  • Independent
  • He was a philosopher and a scholar who served as the first Vice-President of India.
  • He served his position for 10 years.
  • When he was the Vice-President, he was awarded Bharat Ratna Award in 1954.

For more articles like the Vice-Presidents of India, Like and subscribe to

For more updates, do Subscribe to our newsletter and follow us on FacebookTwitter and Google+.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The content and images used on this site are copyright protected and copyrights vests with their respective owners. We make every effort to link back to original content whenever possible. If you own rights to any of the images, and do not wish them to appear here, please contact us and they will be promptly removed. Usage of content and images on this website is intended to promote our works and no endorsement of the artist shall be implied. Read more detailed ​​disclaimer
Copyright © 2022 All rights reserved.
× How can I help you?