Vijay Hazare Trophy Final: Karnataka Lift Title With Classy Performance

Please follow and like us:

Vijay Hazare Trophy Final Karnataka Lift Title With Classy Performance



  • Karnataka won by 41 runs
  • They made 253
  • Mayank scored 90


The full of thrills and excitement Vijay Hazare Trophy culminated on Tuesday with two of the best sides of the tournament facing off against each other in the final at Feroz Shah Kotla in Delhi. Karnataka and Saurashtra contested a closely fought final which saw Karnataka come out on top by 41 runs to be crowned this year’s champions. Riding on the back of Mayank Aggarwal’s 90, Karnataka’s bowlers stepped up to the task of defending 253 to bowl out Saurashtra for 212 with 3 overs left.


A pristine Feroz Shah Kotla saw two giants of the domestic arena step onto the pitch for one final time in the Vijay Hazare Trophy to take home bragging rights of the champions. On a day perfect for cricket with the sun out and a light breeze making the weather even pleasanter, Karnataka batted first as they looked to seal the tournament after having played well in all three departments of the game till now. And the ever reliant opener Mayank Aggarwal had his sights set right on to the trophy as he batted excellently. An aggressive start by him saw Karnataka ease past the slew of wickets that fell at the other end. Eleven fours and three sixes helped the opener reach 90 of just 79 balls and maintain the pressure on Saurashtra’s bowlers despite a fine showing by them which saw them dismiss Karnataka for 253 off 46 overs.


For Saurashtra however, there was no performance put in by anyone apart from the reliable Cheteshwar Pujara. After losing two wickets in quick succession, a mini partnership saw them reach 77 before they collapsed. They went onto 4 wickets for 34 runs which saw their hopes of staying in the match come to an end. The departure of Pujara for 94 after he was run out spelt the end of their challenge for this year’s title and they eventually ended up being dismissed for 212 to hand over the title to Karnataka by 43 runs.


For more updates, do Subscribe to our newsletter and follow us on FacebookTwitter and Google+

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The content and images used on this site are copyright protected and copyrights vests with their respective owners. We make every effort to link back to original content whenever possible. If you own rights to any of the images, and do not wish them to appear here, please contact us and they will be promptly removed. Usage of content and images on this website is intended to promote our works and no endorsement of the artist shall be implied. Read more detailed ​​disclaimer
Copyright © 2022 All rights reserved.
× How can I help you?