Virat Kohli becomes Third Cricketer To Win Khel Ratna

Please follow and like us:

Indian cricket captain Virat Kohli won Khel Ratna and became only the third cricketer in the country after Sachin Tendulkar and MS Dhoni to be awarded the highest civilian award for sports after being conferred with the Khel Ratna award on Tuesday. A glistening and glimmering ceremony saw the electric batsmen being presented the award at the Rashtrapati Bhawan by President Ram Nath Kovind.  Weightlifter Mirabai Chanu was the other sports personality awarded with the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna.


Virat Kohli won Khel Ratna


Must Read: Virat Kohli retains top spot in ICC test rankings 2018 with career best points tally


The Khel Ratna which is presented to two of the best sportspersons in the country every year, with sometimes the count going up to three in rare exceptions had seen Kidambi Srikanth’s name being suggested for the awards as well before the Sports Ministry rejected it.


After the ace cricketer, Virat Kohli won Khel Ratna, he became the centre of attention at the ceremony as he stepped up to receive his award. The batsman, who has over the years being an integral part of the India team, warranted the landmark for his out of the world performances that have seen him being crowned as the best batsmen in the world.



The annual national sports awards are bestowed upon the best sportspersons and coaches in the country over the last year. These awards include the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna and Arjuna Awards for players and the Dronacharya Awards and Dhyan Chand awards for the best coaches. This year saw athletes from a plethora of different sporting fields which included the likes of cricket, athletics, wrestling, table tennis, shooting and hockey among others being rewarded for their amazing feats.


20 athletes were conferred with the Arjuna Award including javelin thrower Neeraj Chopra, sprinter Jinson Johnson and Hima Das, shuttler N Sikki Reddy, cricketer Smriti Mandhana and table tennis player Manika Batra.


List of Award winners:


Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna: Virat Kohli, Mirabai Chanu


Arjuna Awards: Neeraj Chopra (Athletics), Jinson Johnson (Athletics), Hima Das (Athletics), N Sikki Reddy (Badminton), Satish Kumar (Boxing), Smriti Mandhana (Cricket), Shubhankar Sharma (Golf), Manpreet Singh (Hockey), Savita (Hockey), Col. Ravi Rathore (Polo), Rahi Sarnobat (Shooting), Ankur Mittal (Shooting), Shreyasi Singh (Shooting), Manika Batra (Table Tennis), G Sathiyan (Table Tennis), Rohan Bopanna (Tennis), Sumit (Wrestling), Pooja Kadian (Wushu), Ankur Dhama (Para-Athletics), Manoj Sarkar (Para-Badminton)


Dronacharya Awards: Achaiah Kuttappa (Boxing), Vijay Sharma (Weightlifting), A. Srinivasa Rao (Table Tennis), Sukhdev Singh Pannu (Athletics), Clarence Lobo (Hockey Lifetime achievement), Tarak Sinha (Cricket Lifetime Achievement), Jiwan Kumar Sharma (Judo Lifetime Achievement), V.R. Beedu (Athletics Lifetime Achievement)


Dhyan Chand Awards: Satyadev Prasad (Archery), Bharat Kumar Chetri (Hockey), Bobby Aloysius (Athletics), Chougale Dadu Dattatray (Wrestling)


After Virat Kohli won Khel Ratna, we hope more sportspersons and commoners aspire for such excellence in sports and other respective fields.


For more details, like and subscribe to


For more updates, do Subscribe to our newsletter and follow us on FacebookTwitter and Google+.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The content and images used on this site are copyright protected and copyrights vests with their respective owners. We make every effort to link back to original content whenever possible. If you own rights to any of the images, and do not wish them to appear here, please contact us and they will be promptly removed. Usage of content and images on this website is intended to promote our works and no endorsement of the artist shall be implied. Read more detailed ​​disclaimer
Copyright © 2019 All rights reserved.
× How can I help you?