What is Rajya Sabha, Upper House of Parliament of India – Members and Powers

Please follow and like us:

Do you know what is Rajya Sabha or the Council of States?

The Rajya Sabha, also known as the Council of States is the upper house of the Parliament of India is a nomenclature was announced on the 23rd August 1954. According to Article 80 of the Constitution the maximum strength of Rajya Sabha is 250. Currently, there are 245 members in Rajya Sabha out of which 233 are representatives of the States and Union Territories while 12 have been nominated by the President.

What is Rajya Sabha

Members/Strength of Rajya Sabha

  • Representatives of States and UTs are elected through the indirect election. They are elected by the elected members of the Legislative Assembly of that State or by members of the Electoral College for that Union Territory in accordance with the system of proportional representation by means of a single transferable vote.
  • The President nominated members have special knowledge or practical experience in certain fields like art, literature, science, and social services.
  • The ex-officio chairman of Rajya Sabha is the vice president of India.
  • The Deputy Chairman is elected from amongst the house’s members that take care of the house in the absence of the Chairman.

Also Read: What is Lok Sabha?

Seat allocation of Rajya Sabha

  • Every state has a particular number of seats in Rajya Sabha which is based on the population of a state.
  • The member in Rajya Sabha is elected for a term of 6 years and one-third members of Rajya Sabha retire after every second year.

Must Read: Indian National Congress party releases its manifesto for Lok Sabha election 2019

Eligibility for being a member of the Rajya Sabha

  • The person must be a citizen of India and take an oath on this in front of a person authorized by the Election Commission of India;
  • He/she should be at least 30 years of age;
  • Must possess other qualifications as may be prescribed by or under any law made by the Parliament.

Powers of Rajya Sabha

    • . If Rajya Sabha passes a resolution by two-thirds of members present and voting saying that it is “necessary or expedient in the national interest” that Parliament should make a law on a matter, Parliament becomes empowered to make a law on the subject.

Also read: Complete details about the Lok Sabha election results and the PMs elected so far since India’s independence

  • If Rajya Sabha passes a resolution by two-thirds of members present and voting declaring that it is necessary or expedient in the national interest to create one or more All India Services common to the Union and the States, Parliament becomes empowered to create by law such services
  • The Rajya Sabha has equal authority in all areas of legislation as of Lok Sabha. Only in the area of supply the Lok Sabha has the power to override Rajya Sabha.
  • A bill cannot become law unless it has been approved by both the houses. After that, it goes for the approval of the president of India.
  • Rajya Sabha is a permanent house and is not dissolved.
  • The Rajya Sabha cannot introduce, reject, or amend revenue bills which are the sole prerogative of Lok Sabha.

Must read: All about India Election Code of Conduct 2019

For more articles like ‘What is Rajya Sabha’, do follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The content and images used on this site are copyright protected and copyrights vests with their respective owners. We make every effort to link back to original content whenever possible. If you own rights to any of the images, and do not wish them to appear here, please contact us and they will be promptly removed. Usage of content and images on this website is intended to promote our works and no endorsement of the artist shall be implied. Read more detailed ​​disclaimer
Copyright © 2022 Tentaran.com. All rights reserved.
× How can I help you?