Indian Players who have Won the Wisden Award from 1933 to 2019

Please follow and like us:

Wisden Award Indian Players Winners List – The Indian Cricket team played its first Test match in 1932. But till now, only 17 Indian players have been able to make it to the list of Wisden’s cricketers of the year award. Many worthy Indian cricketers have not been included in this award list even once till now.

wisden award indian players winners list

Sunil Gavaskar, who once won this award during his playing days said that these Wisden awards were continuously given to England players. He also criticised and said that it only valued the performances of England players. Gavaskar got this Wisden’s cricketer of the year award in 1980. He went in the record books of cricket and made history when he scored 774 runs in 1971 against West Indies at home.

Wisden Award Indian Players Winners List

There is a long list of Indian cricketers who did not find a place in the Wisden award. These include some great names from Indian Cricket, including players like Gundappa Vishwanath, Virender Sehwag, Spin Quartet, Bishan Singh Bedi, Irapalli Prasanna, S. Venkataraghavan, Harbhajan Singh, Ravichandran Ashwin, Javagal Srinath, Ravindra Jadeja, Ishant Sharma, Sourav Ganguly, Rahul Dravid, MS Dhoni and Rohit Sharma.

Ganguly started his career in England with a bang. The Prince of Kolkata also scored a century in the first two Test matches which were played at Lords. He scored 915 runs in nine Test matches in England with an average of 65.35.

Wisden Award Indian Players Winners List – In ODI too, Dada was brilliant as an opener. India never lost a match whenever Ganguly scored a ton. His highest ODI score of 183 runs against Sri Lanka in World Cup 1999 was also made on England soil but Wisden never considered it appropriate to include this fabulous Indian batsmen and captain for this award.

Must Read: Batsmen with no Ducks in the 50 over format

India’s Hit Man has made several after he was promoted as the opener in ODI Cricket. Rohit has scored 3 double tons which no other player has ever made. Rohit had an extraordinary WC in 2019 as well. He scored 648 runs in that tournament in England and was also the first player to hit five centuries in a single edition of the world cup. But still, Wisden did not consider his performance to be great and didn’t include him in the Wisden award list.

Wisden Award Indian Players Winners List – Like Ganguly, Dhoni also was ignored by Wisden. He has played all over the world, but has never made it to the list of Wisden. While he has played some of the best innings on the soil of England, he has still not won a single Wisden Award in his career.

The legendary Vishwanath also has the same story. His vital contributions are being forgotten by many. He scored his highest score of 222 runs against England. No one can forget his 113-run innings played at Lord’s in 1979, which led India to win that match on England’s soil.

Sehwag too was an aggressive opener for India across all the formats. He is the only Indian who has scored two triple tons in Test Match Cricket, 1 double century in ODI Cricket and a ton in the IPL.

Despite all those achievements, Viru has never been the Wisden award winner. But, he has been ranked twice as the Leading Cricketer of the Year by Wisden in 2008 and 2009. This award has also been given to Sachin Tendulkar in 2010 and Virat Kohli from 2016 to 2019.

Wisden Award Indian Players Winners List – Not only Indian players, but many players from the world’s top countries have never got the Wisden Award. Players like Inzamam ul Haq, AB de Villiers, David Warner, Ross Taylor, Chris Gayle, Stephen Fleming, Rangana Herath, Nathan Lyon, Daniel Vettori, Chaminda Voss, Michelle Johnson, Morne Morkel, Kane Williamson, Kevin Peterson, etc.

Ab De Villiers was included in the list of cricketers of the decade by Wisden last year. But despite his class batting and fielding performances, ABD never won this prestigious award.

Must Read: Angry Moments in MS Dhoni’s Career

CK Nayudu was the first pure Indian cricketer to make it to Wisden in 1933. But before him,  Ranjitsinh Ji won this award in 1897, along with his nephew Dalip Singh, who was also the winner in 1930. Nawav Pataudi SR also held this award in 1932. These three players received this honour but all three played for England at the time.

Wisden Award Indian Players Winners List – Wisden noted worldwide performances for the award from 2000 to 2003. VVS Laxman was included in the Wisden cricketer’s list for the historic innings of 281 runs that he played against Australia in Kolkata. But they decided to revert to the old tradition again and introduced Wisden Leading Cricketers award, which is given to the best cricketers around the world.

Here are the Indian cricketers who were included in Wisden Award – CK Naidu (1933), Vijay Merchant (1937), Veenu Mankad (1947), Mansoor Ali Khan Pataudi (1968), Bhagwat Chandrasekhar (1972), Sunil Gavaskar (1980), Kapil Dev (1983), Mohinder Amarnath (1984), Dilip Vengsarkar (1987), Mohammad Azharuddin (1991), Anil Kumble (1996), Sachin Tendulkar (1997), Rahul Dravid (2000), VVS Laxman (2002), Zaheer Khan ( 2008), Shikhar Dhawan (2014), and Virat Kohli (2019).

Must Read: Wisden Awards 2019 List; Ben Stokes Breaks Virat Kohli’s Supremacy

For more articles like, “Wisden Award Indian Players Winners List”, do follow us on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The content and images used on this site are copyright protected and copyrights vests with their respective owners. We make every effort to link back to original content whenever possible. If you own rights to any of the images, and do not wish them to appear here, please contact us and they will be promptly removed. Usage of content and images on this website is intended to promote our works and no endorsement of the artist shall be implied. Read more detailed ​​disclaimer
Copyright © 2022 All rights reserved.
× How can I help you?