Women’s T20 Challenge Schedule and Format

Please follow and like us:

Women’s T20 Challenge Schedule and Format – With the advent of women’s cricket reaching new pinnacles and viewership in recent times with the prestigious ICC Women’s T20, Women’s Big Bash League (WBBL) in Australia and the Super League in the UK, the BCCI have envisioned their own swanky new T20 league.

Built on the same lines as these expansive tournaments, the Women’s T20 Challenge is set to craft a compelling framework across the women cricketing fraternity in the world.

Women’s T20 Challenge Schedule and Format

It’s the composition of the league that makes it such an engrossing and enthralling affair. Superstar performers from across the cricket world are set to be part of the tournament indulging the spectator base in word class matches. Stalwarts from India, New Zealand, England, West Indies and Sri Lanka will become the mainstays of the marquee league, taking centre stage at the Sawai Mansingh stadium in Jaipur.

If last year’s tournament is anything to go by, this edition of the exhibition league is set to intrigue viewers as well. In what was a humdinger of a summit clash, one that went right down to the last ball, Harmanpreet’s Kaur Supernovas prevailed to snatch a single and with it walk away with the glistening trophy under their arms. It was a testament to the growing competitiveness and exquisite skill set in the women’s game, something the Board of Control for Cricket in India are looking to revolve around.

Must Read: Cricket World Cup 2019 squad

Women’s T20 Challenge Format and Schedule


Up from last year’s two teams, Velocity have been inducted as the third side along with a change in the number of matches, timings and team composition. On the same guidelines as the Indian Premier League, each side will be composed of 4 international players while 7 Indian players will complete the line-up. What was an unofficial, 13-a side encounter last year, is now an official domestic T20 series with the BCCI stamping its approval over the marquee event.

Women’s T20 Challenge Schedule and Format

What the Women’s T20 Challenge offers to the game of cricket for women in India is to showcase their stupendous cricketing abilities on an international level. Upbringing players from the grassroots, the league not only looks to make the game lucrative for women but promote a culture of excellence as well.

Must Read: Cricket World Cup 2019: Cricketers who could be playing their last world cup

In what reaffirms the BCCI’s commitments to making this as profound a success as possible, in a first, three matches in the pivotal league will be played in the night at 7:30 pm with just the one encounter on Thursday at 3:30 pm. All the matches will be played at the iconic Sawai Mansingh stadium in Jaipur, a venue that has been reserved solely for the tournament. The entry has been made free for all spectators to ensure in the maximum number of footfall for the myriad league.

The identity of the remaining two sides remains the same with the Supernovas lead by Harmanpreet Kaur and the Trailblazers captain by Smriti Mandhana set to ply their good for another season. The new franchisee to be roped in, Velocity will be captained by Mithali Raj.

Women’s T20 Challenge Schedule

May 6: Supernovas vs Trailblazers at Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur at 7.30 PM IST.

May 8: Trailblazers vs Velocity at Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur at 3.30 PM IST.

May 9: Supernovas vs Velocity at Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur at 7.30 PM IST.

May 11: Final at Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur at 7.30 PM IST.

Women’s T20 Challenge Schedule and Format

Must Read; Women IPL Trailblazers Vs Supernovas match preview – Tentaran

Women’s T20 Challenge Schedule and Format

Where to WatchTelevision

The Star Sports network is the official broadcaster of the tournament and will be telecasting the 4 matches on Star Sports 1, Hindi/HD. The match will also be available on Jio TV to watch on mobile.

Women’s T20 Challenge Squads:

Supernovas: Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Anuja Patil, Arundhati Reddy, Jemimah Rodrigues, Mansi Joshi, Poonam Yadav, Priya Punia, Radha Yadav, Taniya Bhatia (wk), Chamari Atapattu*, Lea Tahuhu*, Sophie Devine*, Natalie Sciver*
Coach: WV Raman

Trailblazers: Smriti Mandhana (c), Bharti Fulmali, D Hemalatha, Deepti Sharma, Harleen Deol, Jasia Akhtar, Jhulan Goswami, R Kalpana (wk), Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Suzie Bates*, Sophie Ecclestone*, Shakera Selman*, Stafanie Taylor*
Coach: Biju George

Velocity: Mithali Raj (c), Devika Vaidya, Ekta Bisht, Komal Zanzad, Shafali Verma, Shikha Pandey, Sushma Verma (wk), Sushri Dibyadarshini, Veda Krishnamurthy, Amelia Kerr*, Danielle Wyatt*, Hayley Matthews*, Jahanara Alam*
Coach: Mamatha Maben

Must Read: IPL 1st Qualifier CSK Vs MI Preview

For more articles like, ‘Women’s T20 Challenge Schedule and Format,’ do follow us on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The content and images used on this site are copyright protected and copyrights vests with their respective owners. We make every effort to link back to original content whenever possible. If you own rights to any of the images, and do not wish them to appear here, please contact us and they will be promptly removed. Usage of content and images on this website is intended to promote our works and no endorsement of the artist shall be implied. Read more detailed ​​disclaimer
Copyright © 2022 Tentaran.com. All rights reserved.
× How can I help you?