Cricket World Cup Winners: Captains who won the world cup

Please follow and like us:

World cup winning captain skippers list – The first Cricket World Cup was held in England in 1975, while the second Cricket World Cup was held in England in 1979. Both the opening World Cups were won by the West Indies.

world cup winning captain skippers list

The captain of the Windies team was ‘Supercat’ Clive Lloyd. He was the first cricket captain to win 2 World Cup Trophies till 2007. Australia’s Ricky Ponting has also become the second captain to win two World Cups under his captaincy.

World cup winning captain skippers list

In the Cricket World Cup 1975, 8 cricket teams participated. The Indian team was previously part of the Cricket World Cup. In the first and second World Cups, the captain of the Indian team was Srinivasaraghavan Venkataraghavan. The Indian team won its first World Cup in 1983 for the first time under the leadership of Kapil Dev.

World cup winning captain skippers list

The details of all the captains who won the World Cup are as follows.

1. Clive Lloyd (West Indies)

clive lloyd

World Cup winners: (1975 and 1979)
The West Indies team won the first two World Cups under the captaincy of Clive Lloyd. He defeated Australia in the first World Cup final and England in the second.

Clive Lloyd’s cricket records are as follows:

Clive Lloyd was a tremendous batsman of his time. He scored 7515 runs in 175 Test innings. In his batting career in the 2ODIs, he scored 1977 runs at an average of around 40. Overall, he is one of the most successful Test captains ever.

World cup winning captain skippers list

2. Kapil Dev (India) World Cup winners: (1983)

kapil dev
Kapil was a famous all-rounder from his time. Under his captaincy, India won its first World Cup. This World Cup victory for the Indian team is considered to be the most difficult one because the Windies were a very strong team at that time. But, the Indian team stopped the winning chariot of the Windies.

Kapil’s bowling career is as follows:

Kapil scored 5248 runs in Tests with the help of 8 centuries and scored 3783 runs in ODIs in which he scored a single century. In the World Cup 1983, he scored an unbeaten 175 off 138 balls against Zimbabwe which includes 16 fours and 6 sixes. It was the first century by an Indian in the World Cup. Kapil has taken 434 wickets in Test matches, which was a world record for a long time.

3. Alan Border (Australia): This was the first cricket World Cup for the Australian team.

alan border

World Cup winners: (1987)

India and Pakistan were co-hosts of the 1987 World Cup and also the most favorite teams to win this World Cup. But Alan Border-led Australia won this World Cup by defeating England in the final.

4. Imran Khan (Pakistan): World Cup winners: (1992)

imran khan

Australia and New Zealand were co-hosts of this World Cup. Pakistan won their first World Cup by defeating England in the final match.

Imran Khan is unquestionably the second-best all-rounder in the world after Gary Sobers. Imran Khan scored more than 3800 runs in Test matches and 3700 runs in the ODIs. Apart from this, he has taken 362 wickets in Tests and 182 wickets in the ODIs. Currently, Imran is also the Prime Minister of Pakistan.

World cup winning captain skippers list

5. Arjuna Ranatunga: World Cup winners: (1996)

arjuna ranatunga

This World Cup was co-hosted by Pakistan and India in 1996. Sri Lanka won their first World Cup by defeating Australia.

The opening pair of Jayasuriya and Ramesh Kaluvitarne was the most explosive opening of the World Cup. Arvinda D’Silva scored a century in the final match and Sri Lanka won its first World Cup in 1996.

6. Steve Waugh (Australia): World Cup winners: (1999)

steve waugh

This was Australia’s second World Cup title. Australia defeated Pakistan in the final played in England.

Steve Waugh scored 110 in the quarter-finals and led his team to the semi-finals. In the semi-finals, Steve Waugh again played a brilliant 56-run knock to set a target of 213 runs for South Africa but South Africa failed to achieve the target and Australia reached the final.

7. Ricky Ponting (Australia): World Cup winners: (2003 and 2007)

ricky ponting

After Clive Lloyd, Ricky Ponting is the only captain to have won two Cricket World Cups as a captain. Overall it was Australia’s third and fourth World Cup trophy.

Sachin Tendulkar has hit 6 centuries in the ICC Cricket World Cup, while Ricky Ponting has hit 5 centuries. Ponting, with 71 centuries in world cricket, is the player with the most centuries after Sachin.

8. MS Dhoni (India): MS Dhoni is popular as the best finisher in the cricket world. He is the only Indian captain to have won the ICC Cricket World Cup and the T20 World Cup. Apart from Dhoni, no other Indian captain has won 2 World Cups.

ms dhoni

World Cup winners: (2011)

This was the second cricket World Cup trophy of the Indian team. This was the first time a host country won the World Cup. India defeated Sri Lanka in the final played in Mumbai. I hope every Indian cricket lover will remember the six imposed by Dhoni.

Dhoni is still playing for the Indian team and has completed 10,000 runs in ODIs.

World cup winning captain skippers list

9. Michael Clarke (Australia): World Cup winners 2015

michael clarke

Clarke is the fourth Australian captain to have won the World Cup. Overall it was Australia’s 5th Cricket World Cup. Australia defeated New Zealand to win the 5th World Cup title. Australia has become the most successful country having won 5 World Cups. India and West Indies have also won the World Cup 2 times each.

10. Eoin Morgan – World Cup winner 2019

eoin morgan

England won their first World Cup under Morgan’s captaincy. England defeated New Zealand in the Super Over.

So far, 10 captains have won 12 editions of the Cricket World Cup. Ricky Ponting and Clive Lloyd are two such captains who have won 2 World Cups each. Interestingly, except Dhoni and Eion Morgan, all the old captains have stopped playing international cricket.

Must Read: ICC T20 World Cup 2020 – जानें सभी टीमों के कोच और कप्तान के नाम

For more articles like, “World cup winning captain skippers list”,  do follow us on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

The content and images used on this site are copyright protected and copyrights vests with their respective owners. We make every effort to link back to original content whenever possible. If you own rights to any of the images, and do not wish them to appear here, please contact us and they will be promptly removed. Usage of content and images on this website is intended to promote our works and no endorsement of the artist shall be implied. Read more detailed ​​disclaimer
Copyright © 2019 All rights reserved.
× How can I help you?